P3P Went 4,035ft Far Today

Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
1,064
Reaction score
309
Was at a previous location last week and started receiving "Weak RC" messages at 1,500ft out.

I went to a different location today and pushed it to 4,035ft and still had some distance to go.

I never received any weak signal messages and the App displayed full FPV and RC signals.

I will try in the same location for 5,280ft (1 mile) later today. My max height was 328ft but
spent most of the flight at ~200ft.

The extra batteries cannot get here soon enough!
 
  • Like
Reactions: vinnnocc
Joined
Apr 26, 2015
Messages
281
Reaction score
65
Age
39
Awesome. My best is 11,110ft away. From what I've seen, you need to be higher than 200ft to get that range. Here is my video if you want to check it out:


Happy flying!
 
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
3,622
Reaction score
870
Age
77
Location
San Antonio, TX
How do people get these distances when the manual says the app limits to range to 1600 meters?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
118
Reaction score
15
You can disable that.
I don't know how to disable it, in the app or otherwise, but I would LOVE to know. I have heard of some people pressing the RTH button and then "manually" flying above the maximum vertical height, but I have not tried that myself.

Any others out there with success on this?
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
231
Reaction score
56
I don't know how to disable it, in the app or otherwise, but I would LOVE to know. I have heard of some people pressing the RTH button and then "manually" flying above the maximum vertical height, but I have not tried that myself.

Any others out there with success on this?
Look in the app and you will see a slider that says distance limit. Just turn it off.
 
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
3,622
Reaction score
870
Age
77
Location
San Antonio, TX
I don't know how to disable it, in the app or otherwise, but I would LOVE to know. I have heard of some people pressing the RTH button and then "manually" flying above the maximum vertical height, but I have not tried that myself.

Any others out there with success on this?
In the app, tap Mode in the top line-- turn off maximum distance in the popup menu. Learn something every day about this app. :cool:
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
1,064
Reaction score
309
I don't know how to disable it, in the app or otherwise, but I would LOVE to know. I have heard of some people pressing the RTH button and then "manually" flying above the maximum vertical height, but I have not tried that myself.

Any others out there with success on this?
Sounds like you need some more flying time and time with the App before you try to fly against the 500 meter height limit.

The distance limit is in the App. Do what I did and read the manual, do many tame test flights.

With the P3 on a bench and props off go through the the App, every single setting and look it up in the manual and try to understand what each setting does.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
118
Reaction score
15
In the app, tap Mode in the top line-- turn off maximum distance in the popup menu. Learn something every day about this app. :cool:
That's the distance range limit. It is nice to turn that off; however, is there a way to disable the vertical range?
 
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
142
Reaction score
11
Awesome. My best is 11,110ft away. From what I've seen, you need to be higher than 200ft to get that range. Here is my video if you want to check it out:


Happy flying!
Nice smooth video. Which video settings did you used? Because all my 4k videos are stuttering. Only 1080p 60fps ntsc gives me smooth video..
 
  • Like
Reactions: 4NTHEFLOW
Joined
Apr 25, 2015
Messages
24
Reaction score
8
Age
55
A
Thanks for your reply. I'm ordered a faster card yesterday, so I'm curious if that smooths my videos up :D...
I let you guys know..
Also, in camera menu, turn off FPV and set camera to "Follow." Huge help
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2015
Messages
281
Reaction score
65
Age
39
A


Also, in camera menu, turn off FPV and set camera to "Follow." Huge help
Yes, great point. Another good note is that the back right programmable button changes from FPV to Follow by default. I changed mine to show the battery when I press C2. I found that I accidentally hit that button and I don't like the FPV mode. Follow is much more smooth.
 
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
142
Reaction score
11
Yes I have it already on Follow mode :)...
Which bitrates do you guys use when uploading to Vimeo or Youtube?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2015
Messages
281
Reaction score
65
Age
39
Thanks for your reply. I'm ordered a faster card yesterday, so I'm curious if that smooths my videos up :D...
I let you guys know..
You get your card in? That make a difference? I have other ideas if it didn't fix your problem.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,306
Messages
1,437,351
Members
101,179
Latest member
UAmetry