Heretical Thoughts

Reaction score
I'm a pilot AND a UAV operator so I'm expecting flack from BOTH SIDES!

Twenty yrs ago, when Steve Jobs formulated the moniker Think Different
the normal “ly” ending was dropped . . .to make a point. . . I assume.

From Robin Williams portrayal in Dead Poet’s Society
“We must constantly look at things in a different way.
Just when you think you know something, you must look at it in a different way.
Even though it may seem silly or wrong, you must try. Dare to strike out and find new ground.”

“Despite what anyone might tell you, words and ideas can change the world.”

- - - - - - - - - CRITICAL THINKING APPLIED TO UAVs DOES NOT HAVE TO BE "HERESY" - - - - - - - -

Normalizing UAVs as “aircraft” attributes a false sense of equivalency, so rules and procedures applied to UAVs become distorted in order to fit into existing norms and procedures.

UAVs are substantially different from manned aircraft.

Any aircraft can be made into a UAV but a 25kg UAV cannot be manned. We are not talking about military drones here. We are trying to regulate small airborne sensors (largely cameras) or small-packet delivery systems.

UAVs are not “Flown” but rather their auto-pilot is “directed” by an operator.
Several on-board computers are managing controllers that do the actual flying.

There are no “Pilots” on board. There are only “Operators” on the ground.
UAV Operators may think of themselves as pilots but they are at best . .
“skilled operators of an airborne auto-pilot.”

The aviation community should acknowledge that, and so should the UAV community.

No need to diminish an operator’s skills, knowledge or abilities but let’s acknowledge the reality of what is going on and govern them accordingly. Rather than have the new rules driven by existing aviation thinking. Let’s THINK DIFFERENT and regulate UAVs and their operating environment with more CRITICAL THINKING right from the start.