Compass Error, Yaw Error

Joined
Sep 1, 2016
Messages
701
Reaction score
307
Age
52
Location
Southport, UK
Hi guys

P3S, 1.7.90 FW and 3.1.0 IOS DGI Go

This is a 3 week old Phantom 3S. On the first flights, apart from Strong Interference errors, all was good.
Last weekend it got a lot of compass errors, dropping into atti. I send the flight logs to DJI and they responded with a RMA authorisation for repair.

Before sending back I decided to test again today. Similar conditions, around 5C dropping to 3C, no wind, good sats. I did a IMU calibration last night, and compass cal before flying. Compass mod looked good - around 1550.

flying site is the shore well away from anything, no metal, no radio towers, no wifi.

However, same errors this time, plus a new one to me - yaw error.
I was able to fairly reliably reproduce the error by slowly rotating CW, then when it was pointing approximately West it would give a compass error warning, drop to atti. Continuing the rotation past west would clear the error (mostly).
I did also get a few errors when it was pointing east - so the west may just be a coincidence, but I replicated it many times. Strangely, rotating CCW didn't cause the error.

Here is the phantomlog from the 1st flight Phantom Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com
and the healthydrones from the same flight HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters

There are more flight logs from subsequent flights, but I haven't checked them yet.

So, DJI have offered a RMA. However, that means sending to Netherlands and being without a quad until some time in January, with no guarantee of a fix. I'm thinking the better option would be to return to the retailer (argos) for a refund and get a new new one - perhaps stump up the extra and get a P3A.
Any thoughts?
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
918
Reaction score
353
Age
69
Location
Morecambe Bay UK
I would have taken it back to Argos already, and yes I would go the extra for the "A". Think the S does not have Glonass, but I may be wrong. My old P2 V never got more than 7-8 satellites, my new P4 gets at least 17 every time.
I assume you are from Southport, and flying on Ainsdale sands, great location.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PaulSouthport
Joined
Sep 1, 2016
Messages
701
Reaction score
307
Age
52
Location
Southport, UK
Hi, yes I do fly at Ainsdale, lots of room and not many people!
You are correct, no glonass on the S, but it generally gets 10 to 12 sats.
I've just sold my P2V and am beginning to regret it!
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
6,083
Reaction score
1,326
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Yes, I've tried 3 locations with similar errors at each


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
Yes I would take it back, and go for the advanced, I look at the P3S working correctly is about the same as the P2V, My experience of what I have now, P3S**t.

And I looked at your flight log.

Rod
 
  • Like
Reactions: PaulSouthport
Joined
Sep 1, 2016
Messages
701
Reaction score
307
Age
52
Location
Southport, UK
Thanks all. I contacted Argos and they agreed to take it back.
In fact, the price of the P3S has dropped at Argos, so I may just for the refund now
 
  • Like
Reactions: BoydBros

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
6,083
Reaction score
1,326
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
thumb-up-terminator pablo M R.jpg

Rod
 
  • Like
Reactions: PaulSouthport
Joined
Sep 1, 2016
Messages
701
Reaction score
307
Age
52
Location
Southport, UK
Did a couple more flights before taking the bird back for replacement - weather was kind so be rude not to.
I did a few tests to see what circumstances the compass error happens..

The direction each of the 2 steps of calibration finish, ie when the lights say OK, is the direction the drone must be pointing, rotating CW, to cause the error. Thats with the calibration dome CCW. If the calibration is done clockwise, then the error happens in the direction of the calibration finish, when rotating CCW.

I can rotate on the spot continuously and get the error on every single rotation when pointing in the same direction.
Odd! Seems this particular Phantom is a bit of Zoolander - not an ambi-turner
Still, will be replaced during the week, but if anyone else sees repeated compass errors....
 
  • Like
Reactions: RodPad
Joined
Sep 4, 2016
Messages
780
Reaction score
276
Location
Bedfordshire UK
Did a couple more flights before taking the bird back for replacement - weather was kind so be rude not to.
I did a few tests to see what circumstances the compass error happens..

The direction each of the 2 steps of calibration finish, ie when the lights say OK, is the direction the drone must be pointing, rotating CW, to cause the error. Thats with the calibration dome CCW. If the calibration is done clockwise, then the error happens in the direction of the calibration finish, when rotating CCW.

I can rotate on the spot continuously and get the error on every single rotation when pointing in the same direction.
Odd! Seems this particular Phantom is a bit of Zoolander - not an ambi-turner
Still, will be replaced during the week, but if anyone else sees repeated compass errors....

Does the error occur when pointing towards Morecome Bay????
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
200
Reaction score
56
Location
Lithuania
I have similar problem. I have my bird over a year, and compass problem started after upgrading 1.7.90 FW. Looks like compass sensitivity has been increased or something.
I fly yesterday in urban area, when I rise my bird 50meters up, I get a compass error and atti mode. Wind almost blew my phantom away, however I managed to come back.
When tried 2nd time, lost connection with drone (it was 150 away from me).
Problem does not appear when I use Litchi app. It gives more stable signal and better range.
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
6,083
Reaction score
1,326
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Did a couple more flights before taking the bird back for replacement - weather was kind so be rude not to.
I did a few tests to see what circumstances the compass error happens..

The direction each of the 2 steps of calibration finish, ie when the lights say OK, is the direction the drone must be pointing, rotating CW, to cause the error. Thats with the calibration dome CCW. If the calibration is done clockwise, then the error happens in the direction of the calibration finish, when rotating CCW.

I can rotate on the spot continuously and get the error on every single rotation when pointing in the same direction.
Odd! Seems this particular Phantom is a bit of Zoolander - not an ambi-turner
Still, will be replaced during the week, but if anyone else sees repeated compass errors....
Wow, thanks for the update!

Rod
 
  • Like
Reactions: PaulSouthport
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
351
Reaction score
131
Age
55
I also have a hubsan & many people on that forum have problems after updating FW. I've also seen on "the tube" good reports about litchi. think this could be the way forward?
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2016
Messages
701
Reaction score
307
Age
52
Location
Southport, UK
I think Litchi would potentially be disastrous with this issue, if it's flying autonomously and loses compass and GPS signal - if it's close to or beyond visual/radio range, bye bye!
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
918
Reaction score
353
Age
69
Location
Morecambe Bay UK
yes sorry I was being very pedantic. I live on the coast of Morecambe bay, and the mis spelling always grates a bit. How are things in Soufport.


Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,533
Messages
1,439,505
Members
101,331
Latest member
bryan.hivemapper