Phantom 3 4K firmware update without VPS module?

Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Age
33
Hello!

Anyone has an experience about software update with VPS module disconnected? I red a warning in another thread but did't get the answer what could happen if I'd try to update.

I believe/hope an update would cure connectivity issues I have, my VPS module is dead, have ordered a replacement but it may take a long time to arrive.

What's the worst thing that could happend if I try to update?
 

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,256
Reaction score
2,996
Location
Western US
Hello!

Anyone has an experience about software update with VPS module disconnected? I red a warning in another thread but did't get the answer what could happen if I'd try to update.

I believe/hope an update would cure connectivity issues I have, my VPS module is dead, have ordered a replacement but it may take a long time to arrive.

What's the worst thing that could happend if I try to update?
What we have seen reported here is that when someone tries to update FW with major components removed (e.g. camera or VPS module) the update process fails.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Age
33
What we have seen reported here is that when someone tries to update FW with major components removed (e.g. camera or VPS module) the update process fails.
I was afraid that I could brick it if something gets corrupted during update.

If it's smart enough to cancel the update I might try and see what happens :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone

ianzone

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
4,806
Reaction score
2,472
Age
49
Location
NZ
I was afraid that I could brick it if something gets corrupted during update.

If it's smart enough to cancel the update I might try and see what happens :)
Was just reading,,will turning it off completely will that then be able to update or have you tryed,,and how you know it's dead,errors,not functioning when on,imu comes to mind if vps issue unless it dead,bit of info on that be bit more informing, or screen shot of issue or damaged
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Age
33
Was just reading,,will turning it off completely will that then be able to update or have you tryed,,and how you know it's dead,errors,not functioning when on,imu comes to mind if vps issue unless it dead,bit of info on that be bit more informing, or screen shot of issue or damaged
Hi,

There was enough smoke coming out of VPS module after I changed the fuse on the main board.. Pretty sure it's dead :(

I can fly and I have live video feed!! But no other info in the app. No battery level or anything else, (not connected reads at the top) Can calibrate the joysticks from app but not the sensors on aircraft. Led on remote is solid red but it's linked to the AC.

Tried to access remote and aircraft through FTP.. Did't see much but there were some files last edited in 1970 :) That's why I believe I need to update/reinstall the firmware.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Age
33
Received new VPS module and got the aircraft updated without the Go app. Got Failed message in log file but I know it received the firmware from behavior.
But.. Still no connection to functions of the app, including updating the RC.

I might open a new the thread for updating the RC. I'll post a link here soon..
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,101
Messages
1,387,931
Members
97,788
Latest member
kemco10