Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3S, RC stuck on FW 1.7.90, CANNOT UPDATE, STUCK ON 1.7.90

Discussion in 'Standard' started by Gerrytait, May 15, 2018.

  1. Gerrytait

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, I never once had a problem with my P3S up until its recent 1.9.20 update. I updated via wifi and everything seemed to check out ok. After updating I tried to do a flight but I could not get the AC to connect to the remote. Link indicator lights were both red on the AC and the RC. Tried re-binding multiple times but still nothing. I then checked the FW on the RC and it said 'Current Version 1.7.90 even just after updating to 1.9.20. I then tried updating again through the DJI Go app, the only version on the drop down list was 1.9.20, it seemed to download and install successfully but its still showing 1.7.90 as the current version. I still cannot get it to update or even detect the AC at all. I think I tried pretty much everything even multiple devices. Even tried downgrading the AC back down to 1.7.90 via SD card but still cannot get the RC to update or detect the AC. Is there any way to flash the firmware on the RC or even force it to update. Would there be certain contacts on its circuit board to flash it back to factory defaults? Any Suggestions.
     
  2. Firebird

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    try downloading 1920 and stick it on an sd card, in the drone, and reboot. Let it go through the process. But really, should stay on 1790 IMHO ;)
     
  3. betabilly

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Beaver Co, Pa
    The most recent firmware version install results will be at the bottom of a log.txt file located on the SD card. I sure wish my P3S was stuck on 1.7.9 firmware.
     
    Firebird likes this.
  4. Apdcop514

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I’m having the same problem with mine. The rc is stuck on 1.7.90 and the drone updated to 1.9.20
     
  5. Gerrytait

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says it installed successfully but that’s just the drone itself. The remote is still on 1.7.9 and not linking to the drone.
     
  6. Gerrytait

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. Tried it. The drone updated to 1920 but the rc is still not detecting the drone.
     
  7. Gerrytait

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rc still on 1790
     
  8. Gerrytait

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the r
    Does your rc detect the drone?
     
  9. Apdcop514

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    The remote will sync with the app but you can sync the rc and drone to the app at the same time. I’ve had it say ready to go a couple of times but then it switches to rc signal loss. Been thru the resyncing procedure several times but no luck. I really think it’s because the two are on different firmwares
     
  10. Firebird

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    delete the go app and re-install. This will bring back the update prompt. Make sure RC & AC are switched on and all connected, and the app of course. good luck.
     
  11. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    @Apdcop514,
    Do you ever get green status on remote and Phantom?

    Rod
     
  12. Gerrytait

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. Stays red.
     
  13. Apdcop514

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    For about half a second and then it goes red
     
  14. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    If you try a re-link, does the lights flash red, then time out, otherwise they stay solid red?

    Rod
     
  15. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I found an old thread, probably won't help, but unless you get them linked, your dead.

    I really don't know about different firmware's, I try to avoid them.

    Newbie first crash

    Rod
     
  16. Apdcop514

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah. There has to be a way to get that rc updated. When you first turn it on and open the app it turns green, then turns red
     
  17. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    BTW, you don't need to have the app open to re-link or fly, but you do need green on both the Phantom and the Remote, and have you tried re-linking without the app?

    Rod
     
  18. Apdcop514

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. Still won’t link
     
  19. Gerrytait

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here. Tried everything suggested along with multiple devices. Still not linking or updating.
     
  20. Apdcop514

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I’m at a loss
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - P3S stuck CANNOT Forum Date
Compass Stuck? P3S Standard Apr 28, 2017
Dji p3s fps stuck? Standard Dec 19, 2016
DJI GO APP STUCK! on P3S Standard Oct 7, 2016
Stuck antenna "holder" on P3S remote General Discussion Dec 28, 2015
P3se and litchi. No video Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Yesterday at 3:32 PM