firmware update fail "Device not found"

Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
6
Likes
0
Age
48
#1
Having a huge problem when updating i wonder whats wrong
in a row it says device not detected ?
please help !



[00441851]Firmware upgrading[5]...

[00444803][19 00] Firmware upgrade start...
[00456309][19 00] Firmware upgrade finish failed (step = 4, err = 0xaa, idx = 0, los = 1, ng = 0, usb = 1).
[00486387]Done.
[00486466]Version checking[6]...
[00486563][03 05][00] v34.2.0.9 -> v34.2.0.8
[00486681][03 06][00] v2.2.6.8 -> v2.1.6.18
[00486759][04 00][00] v1.38.0.0 -> v1.36.0.0
[00486851][09 00][00] v1.7.0.3 -> v1.7.0.3
[00487001][11 00][00] v1.6.0.0 -> v1.6.0.0
[00487131][12 00][00] v1.8.0.0 -> v1.8.0.0
[00487258][12 01][00] v1.8.0.0 -> v1.8.0.0
[00487366][12 02][00] v1.8.0.0 -> v1.8.0.0
[00487492][12 03][00] v1.8.0.0 -> v1.8.0.0
[00520097][15 00][00] device not detected.
[00520208][17 00][00] v1.1.1.6 -> v1.1.1.2
[00520368][17 01][05] v1.0.2.4 -> v1.0.2.4
[00520473][19 00][00] v0.0.0.0 -> v1.0.8.59 need upgrade.
[00520546][01 00][00] v1.14.3090 -> v1.7.2735
[00520622][01 01][00] v1.14.3090 -> v1.7.2735
[00520698]Packet upgrade failed at firmware upgrade.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
6
Likes
0
Age
48
#3
Tried that, same result after 7 min it stops to uppdate and The litle red light in The gimbal is solid red and The beep sound is a single tone beeeeep for at least 30 min
 
Joined
May 13, 2016
Messages
24
Likes
4
Age
28
#8
Hi guys any new ideas about NO SIGNAL and 8 15 device not detected?. Am sick of it. Happened with me 3 times. Dji should care more if they want to keep up with their customers. Sux
 
Joined
May 13, 2016
Messages
24
Likes
4
Age
28
#14
No I mean what was your solution to the device 8 and 15 not being found? is there any solution other than replacing the gimbal board?
Dude. I mentioned the only solution. Change the board. I did it 3 times and worked. No other solution unless u wana send it back RMA. bye the way u can search the whole net, no one will help u in this except this. Am the only one found and solved this issue. Tey ur luck finding crashed drone with broken gimbal so u can buy the GMCB. And befor u install it just let me know so i can help in HOW TO..
GOODLUCK
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2017
Messages
1
Likes
0
Age
35
#15
Dude. I mentioned the only solution. Change the board. I did it 3 times and worked. No other solution unless u wana send it back RMA. bye the way u can search the whole net, no one will help u in this except this. Am the only one found and solved this issue. Tey ur luck finding crashed drone with broken gimbal so u can buy the GMCB. And befor u install it just let me know so i can help in HOW TO..
GOODLUCK
Hello Amty,

I have been struggling with this same problem for almost an year now. I checked your post and I'd love to hear back from you on this How To, I already bought the GCMB.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
7
Likes
0
Age
45
#16
Hi Guys,

Right, I've had this issue myself, and have just managed to fix it without RMA or hardware replacement.
It's pretty much taken me all weekend though, researching this and other forums.

So I tried different firmware versions on the aircraft, the two firmware versions available on the controller, nothing.

Then I found this link showing how to help 'force' upgrade or downgrade firmware:
forcing fw downgrade with P3X_FW_DEBUG · Issue #4 · mefistotelis/phantom-firmware-tools · GitHub
It's a very simple thing to enable, just create a file called P3X_FW_DEBUG in the root of the SD card you are using to do the firmware upgrade.
I did that by creating a text file, naming it as above, and removing the .txt extension.

Reading in the above link, mefistotelis states that he believes that long jumps in firmware upgrades are not ideal.

So, and this was the painful bit, I decided to try and flash the firmware in order by version steps - it took bloody ages:
I found this link on one of these forums where you can download all the versions of firmware for the P3P:

DJI Phantom Accessories & Tips - Phantom Help
I downloaded them all, and started with the current version, going one by one down to a much older version (not the oldest version):
v1.10.9
v1.09.6
v1.08.8
v1.07.6
v1.06.4
v1.05.3
v1.04.1
v1.03.2
v1.02.6

All of them failed with the long dirty tone sounding on the aircraft at the end of the upgrade process, but I persevered.
Noting that each time, the aircraft would mostly boot as normal, but still showing 'No Image Transmission' when connected.
Also, a few times, the aircraft would not properly start at all, and instead would start beeping loudly 'like an alarm' clock and no lights showing on the aircraft as some posters have commented.
BUT, the upgrades would still run through, so I kept going, and after applying the next version down, the loud beeping would stop and the aircraft lights would come back on.
Eventually, I got to the earliest version (v1.02.6) with none of the upgrades reporting successful, but then I started incrementing firmware versions from oldest to newest as follows:

from v1.02.6
v1.03.2
v1.04.1
v1.05.3
v1.06.4
v1.07.6
v1.08.8
and on this version, the firmware update was successful - for the first time!

Not quite believing it had worked, I decided to power on the craft and controller (which was running v1.5 firmware).

Lo and behold, the **** picture is back and working again!
I can't believe it! I am going to cancel the RMA that I raised today, while I was halfway through this process and lost hope - convinced it was a hardware issue!

I hope the above process works for anyone else out there who has tried many different ways to fix their issue.

It just goes to show, it's not 'definitely a hardware issue' if you get both the:
[00028828][15 00][00] device not detected.
[00041697][08 00][00] device not detected.
at the same time.

Best of luck!
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Messages
3
Likes
0
Age
48
#17
Hi Guys,

Right, I've had this issue myself, and have just managed to fix it without RMA or hardware replacement.
It's pretty much taken me all weekend though, researching this and other forums.
Hi friend,
I spent this night downgrading step-by-step from 1.10.9 to 1.1.8 using DEBUG feature. Each of attempts finished by red LED and long beep. Then I performed a step-by-step fw upgrade from 1.1.8 to 1.10.9 WITHOUT either DEBUG or Bind feature (only insert a card and turn a bird on). Nothing happened, the same red LED and scary beeeep ))). What I made wrong?)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
7
Likes
0
Age
45
#18
Hi friend,
I spent this night downgrading step-by-step from 1.10.9 to 1.1.8 using DEBUG feature. Each of attempts finished by red LED and long beep. Then I performed a step-by-step fw upgrade from 1.1.8 to 1.10.9 WITHOUT either DEBUG or Bind feature (only insert a card and turn a bird on). Nothing happened, the same red LED and scary beeeep ))). What I made wrong?)
Hi,
Sorry for the late reply, I've been away on my hols.

I'm not sure I understand what process you followed. When you say 1.1.8, did you mean 1.0.8?
What aircraft are you doing this on? The P3P or the P3A?

Thanks.

Leighton
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
129,647
Messages
1,346,576
Members
94,470
Latest member
atarheelblue