toggle between gps and ATTI modes during flight

Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Age
57
If I take off in gps mode, fly around a little then switch to atti mode... if I get in trouble and switch back does it go straight into GPS mode or does it need to re lock onto satellites?
 

Fly Dawg

"Electricity is really just organized lightning"
Premium Pilot
Joined
Apr 29, 2016
Messages
4,659
Reaction score
2,077
Location
Watkinsville, Georgia
If I take off in gps mode, fly around a little then switch to atti mode... if I get in trouble and switch back does it go straight into GPS mode or does it need to re lock onto satellites?
It should go right back, assuming you previously had good sat signals. RTH will also work in a manual switch ATTI scenario.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,239
Reaction score
1,953
Age
65
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
It should go right back, assuming you previously had good sat signals. RTH will also work in a manual switch ATTI scenario.

Exactly .... just because you choose to switch to ATTI does not mean the model stops reading sats. As FD says - manually selected ATTI still allows full RTH ...

Its actually a good practice to try ATTI mode at times ... to actually fly the model yourself instead of just 'interrupting' autonomous flight as in P-GPS ...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Fell Wanderer
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Age
57
Cool.. thanks guys, I guess Attu mode is what I want to try and fly with as it’s more “me” flying it rather than depending on the gps
 
  • Like
Reactions: Harleydude
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,239
Reaction score
1,953
Age
65
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
Its good practice ... BUT take note ...

You will drift ... you will find it will carry on in a direction after you stop directing it ...

Wind will cause leeway - so you need to fly 'crabbed' to get in desired direction ...

But it is good practice as you don't know when you will need that capability
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
1,194
Reaction score
709
You must know that If the craft is at substantial distance (few 100 m) when you see it just as a spot it is actually impossible to notice its drifting. So it can go into quite different direction you are supposing to. Begin doing that when the bird is pretty close to you (less than 50 m) and do it at an altitude above obstacles around. The wind also increases with altitude so the craft can drifts without any stick inputs.
If you like flying the ATTI mode is much more fun. It only maintain altitude all the rest is on your manual inputs.
And yes - it remains satellites locked only ignores the data.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
6,239
Reaction score
2,874
Location
Yorba Linda, CA
Video captures while drifting with the wind are interesting to me. While drifting, you can yaw the craft in any direction to capture a POI as the wind takes you in it's direction. All you have to do is ensure you are above all objects, in the direction you're drifting. I will often switch to ATTI just to measure the wind speed and direction, just so I know what I'm up against. I find ATTI so necessary that I have converted my Mavic2Z Sport mode setting into ATTI mode. I find it more useful than going fast, which wastes battery time.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
1,509
Reaction score
820
Location
Adirondacks, NY, USA
While drifting, you can yaw the craft in any direction to capture a POI as the wind takes you in it's direction.
This can be achieved with course lock mode too; if your aircraft supports it.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
862
Reaction score
656
Age
58
Location
Albuquerque, New Mexico
If I take off in gps mode, fly around a little then switch to atti mode... if I get in trouble and switch back does it go straight into GPS mode or does it need to re lock onto satellites?

I think the term you're looking for is "re-acquire." No, it does not. Your bird will instantly lock on its location as soon as you flip the switch.

FWIW, I fly in ATTI mode all the time.


D
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
6,239
Reaction score
2,874
Location
Yorba Linda, CA
This can be achieved with course lock mode too; if your aircraft supports it.
Yes, and TAP FLY FREE MODE does that too, if your craft supports it. Fly any straight direction regardless of wind, yaw the craft and camera at will while maintaining a constant straight flight course.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
1,509
Reaction score
820
Location
Adirondacks, NY, USA
By the barometer as it do otherwise.
I wasn’t clear. What I meant is when I specify a path from here to there, how to I specify the altitude profile to fly? Or does it just fly at whatever altitude you started at.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,607
Messages
1,449,255
Members
102,410
Latest member
Droning Dave Iorwerth