Phantom 3 Standard range mod , let's do it together...

Joined
Jun 9, 2016
Messages
77
Reaction score
55
Age
38
Hey, I can't access the file on google drive. The following message "Sorry, the file you have requested does not exist." is displayed. Could you upload this script to Build software better, together
Date : 21/06/2016 v1.21
setchan.sh

use djiled.sh mod to enable telnet.d
check for post#289 for detail

for 5.8ghz RC signal boost, i suggest to buy a cheap 5.8g 1W booster
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Argonaise
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
2
Age
30
it s the first time i am so confused on a forum :). i am a computer guy but i never "played" with telnet and those things.. i read post #289 and i lost the line. i am running windows what apps should i use ?for what purpose is the setchan.sh file ?the hack is only for the 2.4ghz antennas (video feed) or both video and rc ?no i am not stupid i am just confused :confused: . a video on youtube will help the noobs like me .
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2016
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
37
it s the first time i am so confused on a forum :). i am a computer guy but i never "played" with telnet and those things.. i read post #289 and i lost the line. i am running windows what apps should i use ?for what purpose is the setchan.sh file ?the hack is only for the 2.4ghz antennas (video feed) or both video and rc ?no i am not stupid i am just confused :confused: . a video on youtube will help the noobs like me .
1. you can just turn on telnet service in windows, then you can use telnet without other software.
2. setchan.sh helps you set WIFI channel & transmission power.
3. This mod is 2.4G only, video is stable till 1400m instead original 700m in my case
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
23
Reaction score
2
Guys, now that we've figured out how to change region and Tx power to 27dbm for 2.4Ghz video frequency...

Is there anything we can do to boost 5.8ghz command frequency ? Do you think it is also restricted by software for CE "GB" users ?

I am using my bird in europe and before doing 27dbm mod I was always getting "low video signal" at 500-600 m, with control signal OK ; now with the 27dmb mod in use I am getting "low control signal" with video signal OK at 900-1000 m !
 
Joined
May 4, 2016
Messages
130
Reaction score
54
Age
22
Location
United Kingdom
Guys, now that we've figured out how to change region and Tx power to 27dbm for 2.4Ghz video frequency...

Is there anything we can do to boost 5.8ghz command frequency ? Do you think it is also restricted by software for CE "GB" users ?

I am using my bird in europe and before doing 27dbm mod I was always getting "low video signal" at 500-600 m, with control signal OK ; now with the 27dmb mod in use I am getting "low control signal" with video signal OK at 900-1000 m !
I'll have a poke around with the firmware later to see what I can do. It will more than likely be controlled by the same OpenWRT OS, however could be more difficult to change if at all possible.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
23
Reaction score
2
Another question for the experts out there: when we change the reg setting (GB, US, or BO) and do a iw reg get, there seems to be some relevant info there on the frequencies and output power associated. Can somebody explain what they mean exactly ?

For example:
country US: DFS-FCC
(2402 - 2472 @ 40), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
(5170 - 5250 @ 80), (N/A, 17), (N/A)
(5250 - 5330 @ 80), (N/A, 23), (0 ms), DFS
(5735 - 5835 @ 80), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
(57240 - 63720 @ 2160), (N/A, 40), (N/A)

country BO: DFS-JP
(2402 - 2482 @ 40), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
(5735 - 5835 @ 80), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
 
Joined
May 4, 2016
Messages
130
Reaction score
54
Age
22
Location
United Kingdom
Another question for the experts out there: when we change the reg setting (GB, US, or BO) and do a iw reg get, there seems to be some relevant info there on the frequencies and output power associated. Can somebody explain what they mean exactly ?

For example:
country US: DFS-FCC
(2402 - 2472 @ 40), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
(5170 - 5250 @ 80), (N/A, 17), (N/A)
(5250 - 5330 @ 80), (N/A, 23), (0 ms), DFS
(5735 - 5835 @ 80), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
(57240 - 63720 @ 2160), (N/A, 40), (N/A)

country BO: DFS-JP
(2402 - 2482 @ 40), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
(5735 - 5835 @ 80), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
I'll explain the first line and hopefully it will clear things up for you...

Code:
(2402 - 2482 @ 40)
- This says you can use at most 40 MHz bandwidth between the frequencies 2402 MHz and 2472 MHz
Code:
(N/A, 30)
- This shows the rules that govern transmission power. N/A is the antennae gain (in this case, unknown) and 30 represents the max EIRP (equivalent
isotropically radiated power), both measured in dBm.

No idea what the final (N/A) is for. My knowledge of wireless kernels ends there I'm afraid!
 
  • Like
Reactions: PsiFoX
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
31
Location
South Korea
Guys, now that we've figured out how to change region and Tx power to 27dbm for 2.4Ghz video frequency...

Is there anything we can do to boost 5.8ghz command frequency ? Do you think it is also restricted by software for CE "GB" users ?

I am using my bird in europe and before doing 27dbm mod I was always getting "low video signal" at 500-600 m, with control signal OK ; now with the 27dmb mod in use I am getting "low control signal" with video signal OK at 900-1000 m !
2.4 and 5.8ghz transmission is separated by hardware.

phantom3-standard-teardown-00481_jpg_large.jpg


Upper large one is 2.4, lower small one is 5.8. I guess 5.8 module is simple PPM encoding & transmission circuit, looking for the size.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PsiFoX
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
226
Reaction score
159
I just realized the frq parameter at the end of env.
Does anyone have other values than 2 ?
I wonder what it does. If removed the system will complain during boot that 'frq is missing'. But when changed to 1 or 0 I did not notice any change in wifi. Perhaps it has to do with 5.8Ghz ?


[email protected]:~# fw_printenv
bootdelay=1
baudrate=115200
ethaddr=0x00:0xaa:0xbb:0xcc:0xdd:0xee
ipaddr=192.168.1.1
serverip=192.168.1.10
dir=
lu=tftp 0x80060000 ${dir}u-boot_${bc}.bin&&erase 0x9f000000 +$filesize&&cp.b $fileaddr 0x9f000000 $filesize
lf=tftp 0x80060000 ${dir}${bc}-jffs2&&erase 0x9f050000 +$filesize&&cp.b $fileaddr 0x9f050000 $filesize
lk=tftp 0x80060000 ${dir}vmlinux_${bc}.lzma.uImage&&erase 0x9f680000 +$filesize&&cp.b $fileaddr 0x9f680000 $filesize
bootcmd=bootm 0x9f050000
filesize=280000
bargs1=board=DJI-WM305 console=ttyS0,115200 root=/dev/mtdblock3 init=/sbin/init mtdparts=ath-nor0:[email protected](u-boot),[email protected](u-boot-env),[email protected](kernel1),[email protected](rootfs1),[email protected](kernel2),[email protected](rootfs2),[email protected](art),[email protected](firmware1),[email protected](firmware2),[email protected](all)
bargs2=board=DJI-WM305 console=ttyS0,115200 root=/dev/mtdblock5 init=/sbin/init mtdparts=ath-nor0:[email protected](u-boot),[email protected](u-boot-env),[email protected](kernel1),[email protected](rootfs1),[email protected](kernel2),[email protected](rootfs2),[email protected](art),[email protected](firmware1),[email protected](firmware2),[email protected](all)
bootcmd2=bootm 0x9f420000
stdin=serial
stdout=serial
stderr=serial
bootargs=board=DJI-WM305 console=ttyS0,115200 root=/dev/mtdblock3 init=/sbin/init mtdparts=ath-nor0:[email protected](u-boot),[email protected](u-boot-env),[email protected](kernel1),[email protected](rootfs1),[email protected](kernel2),[email protected](rootfs2),[email protected](art),[email protected](firmware1),[email protected](firmware2),[email protected](all)
macaddr=60:60:1f:0d:c9:05
wifipd=12341234
country=US
frq=2
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
226
Reaction score
159
I just answered my own question.
There are two possible values for frq, these are 2 and 5, which represent 2.4Ghz and 5.8Ghz respectively.

I disassembled part of firmware to find out.
int32_t get_frequency_cfg(char * a1) {
int32_t v1 = g10; // 0x6c14
int32_t v2 = g5; // 0x6c20
int32_t v3;
g5 = &v3;
g10 = get_config;
int32_t str;
int32_t v4 = get_config("frq", (int32_t)&str, g52, g4, (char *)(v1 + 0x1bde4)); // 0x6c5c
int32_t result; // 0x6d68_11
if (v4 != 0) {
// 0x6d28
g12 = v4;
if (v4 == -1) {
// 0x6d34
*a1 = 0;
result = 0;
// branch -> 0x6d58
} else {
result = v4;
}
// 0x6d58
g5 = v2;
return result;
}
// 0x6c78
if (strcmp((char *)&str, "5") == 0) {
// 0x6cac
g12 = 1;
*a1 = 1;
// branch -> 0x6d58
// 0x6d58
g5 = v2;
return 0;
}
// 0x6cc8
if (strcmp((char *)&str, "2") == 0) {
// 0x6cf8
*a1 = 0;
result = 0;
// branch -> 0x6d58
} else {
// 0x6d14
result = -1;
// branch -> 0x6d58
}
// 0x6d58
g5 = v2;
return result;
}
 
  • Like
Reactions: Argonaise
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
226
Reaction score
159
Ojcze nasz, any success in boosting 5.8 ghz signal strange?
For now just use stock antenna with windsurfer reflector.
It will make your antenna directional, it will take all around 360 radiation and concentrate it into a aprox 120 degree beam in one direction.

I'm getting about 1.5km with unmodified stock 5.8 antenna and NO reflector.... (while video link is 100% all the time - cranked up to 27dBm)
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
17
Age
30
I am getting about 700-800 m with your 27 dbm mod, argtek kit and 11dbm panel directional antenna... Any advices? The problem is that I always lose controler signal...
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
226
Reaction score
159
I am getting about 700-800 m with your 27 dbm mod, argtek kit and 11dbm panel directional antenna... Any advices? The problem is that I always lose controler signal...
Start with antenna. I bought one myself from China, supposed to be higher gain. It was just longer that stock antenna but worse in gain.
I quickly replaced back to stock antenna. Really, try it. and put a reflector on it.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
226
Reaction score
159
Start with antenna. I bought one myself from China, supposed to be higher gain. It was just longer that stock antenna but worse in gain.
I quickly replaced back to stock antenna. Really, try it. and put a reflector on it.
In fact I also put back original 2.4Ghz antennas. They are actually very good.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
226
Reaction score
159
2.4 and 5.8ghz transmission is separated by hardware.

View attachment 58677

Upper large one is 2.4, lower small one is 5.8. I guess 5.8 module is simple PPM encoding & transmission circuit, looking for the size.
Small one is 5.8. There is BK5811 chip and small QFN RF Amp.
You can adjust amplification by changing voltages on the Amp. I.e. resistor values.
Also removing 4 capasitors in series between BK5811 and Amp should help a bit. Can be replaced by plain wire.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
136,758
Messages
1,414,122
Members
99,400
Latest member
Robert S.