Phantom 3 Standard range mod , let's do it together...

Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
53
Ελα φιλε μου Απο θεσσαλονικη υπαρχει ειναι στην αθηνα τωρα ανοιξε λεγεται xlab
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Age
41
I ended up doing it this way and I'm getting 27dBm ... (this is my actual rcS from drone)

#!/bin/sh

# This script runs when init it run during the boot process.
# Mounts everything in the fstab

mount -o remount +w /
mount -t tmpfs mdev /dev
mkdir -p /dev/pts
mount -t devpts devpts /dev/pts
mount -t sysfs sysfs /sys
mount -t proc proc /proc
mount -t tmpfs tmpfs /tmp
echo /sbin/mdev > /proc/sys/kernel/hotplug
mdev -s

mknod /dev/caldata b 31 6
mount -t debugfs none /sys/kernel/debug
mkdir /var/run
mkdir /var/lock
mkdir /var/log
/sbin/klogd
/sbin/syslogd

insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/compat.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/crypto_blkcipher.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/crc-ccitt.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/arc4.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/cfg80211.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/mac80211.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/ath.ko
country=`fw_printenv -n country`

if [ $country = "GB" ];then
fw_setenv country US
sleep 1
country=`fw_printenv -n country`
fi



if [ $country = "GB" ];then
insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/ath9k_hw.ko cert_country=1
else
insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/ath9k_hw.ko
fi
insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/ath9k_common.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.10.49/ath9k.ko

echo dji > /proc/sys/kernel/hostname
/etc/init.d/sysfixtime boot

iw dev wlan0 del
#iw phy phy0 set antenna all all
iw phy phy0 set antenna_gain 0
iw phy phy0 set distance 0
iw phy phy0 interface add wlan0 type managed 4addr on
iw wlan0 set power_save off

ifconfig wlan0 up
brctl addbr br-lan
ifconfig br-lan 192.168.1.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
dwifi sta start
clisrv &

ifconfig usb0 hw ether 60:60:1f:ff:ff:ff up
brctl addif br-lan usb0
brctl addif br-lan wlan0

ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 up
#telnetd -l /bin/ash &
mkdir -m 0755 -p /var/run/vsftpd
/usr/sbin/vsftpd &
#/usr/sbin/ntpd -n -p 0.openwrt.pool.ntp.org -p 1.openwrt.pool.ntp.org -p 2.openwrt.pool.ntp.org -p 3.openwrt.pool.ntp.org &
djiled.sh &
iw reg set US
iw phy phy0 set retry short 1 long 1
iw phy phy0 set rts off
iw phy phy0 set frag 256
iw dev wlan0 set noack_map 0x00c0
iw dev wlan0 set txpower fixed 2700


If you don't want go straigh to 27dBm, set 2000 instead in last line.
Make sure you make same changes to your remote too.

Remote is at 192.168.1.1
Drone is at 192.168.1.2

Do u hav the rcS files for the drone? I need a copy.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
31
Location
South Korea
After further investigation, it seems your script missed a CRDA update, my drone remained on GB mode, 17dbm while the script was running...
I can provide you with the messages log if you want
Also, why don't we try a test on reg get result instead of looking inside logs for CRDA ? if reg get <> BO, then reg set BO => done !

I'm on expert on script though !

I posted my script to be improved by collective intelligence of talented people.
What I wanted to tell people was that I wanted to give those devices minimal burden, and checking modified time can be good method, instead of running iw everytime. You're free to improve and post back to this thread.
Someone has already told me the code needed. I think this is cleaner and more robust too now. Maybe

cmd=`iw reg get`
echo "$cmd" | grep "BO"
if [ $? -ne 0 ]
then

Looking this simple code, I feel some regret decided to use syslog to detect CRDA.
iqdba 's solution is guaranteed to work, good solution.
But I prefer making background script over using crond, because it is more used to me,
because once crond had me got a bad memory once personally...

Also if you're experienced on linux enough, you would notice that the code's style is not linux-like :)

ps. If you're plan to make script, I think grep would be robust than cut- and sed- then comparing equality.
It's possible that white spaces, newlines, messages, maybe different throughout many phantoms under all possible circumstances.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 13, 2016
Messages
134
Reaction score
38
Age
43
Location
Chicago
So not sure who this might help but I found that you can indeed force a downgrade on the Bird's firmware. Maybe this might help someone with a bricked bird.

Put FW 1.5 on your SD card, Press and hold the Sync button before turning the bird on. Turn the Bird on while still holding the Sync button for at least 10 seconds. You will here the usual FW upgrade beeps and the gimbal light will flash Red/Green. After about 10-15 mins, upgrade/downgrade will be completed and the gimbals light will stay Green and you will get a different beeping telling you that it has finished. Look at the contents of the SD card for proof.

(After 1.6.8 update) Phantom 3S Weak RC signal problem SOLVED!!!

Post #23 is where I did it.

========== 2014.01.01 00:00:14 remo-con disconnect======
Packet: P3C_FW_V01.05.0070.bin
Upgrading ...
Result: Success.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20160628-194732.png
    Screenshot_20160628-194732.png
    1.5 MB · Views: 358
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Age
28
We should find a way to make a custom firmware which can be installed on the devices! Just got my drone today, experienced in Linux, bash scripting and loves programing. I'm going to dig deeper and see what other possibilities are available.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Age
28
I update setchan.sh to version 1.1 for user who have external booster for his RC
#Version 1.1
# 1) Add new user argument
# -ch for set channel number, eg. -ch 13
# -booster will limit RC tx power to 20Dbm for protect your external booster
# 2) Add Restart udhcp and apsvr

setchan.sh
Hey, I can't access the file on google drive. The following message "Sorry, the file you have requested does not exist." is displayed. Could you upload this script to Build software better, together
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
31
Location
South Korea
Hey, I can't access the file on google drive. The following message "Sorry, the file you have requested does not exist." is displayed. Could you upload this script to Build software better, together

Remove .zip extension. Check line ending before use (I opened it with sublime on osx, says file has unix line ending though)
 

Attachments

  • setchan.sh.zip
    4.8 KB · Views: 227
  • Like
Reactions: dadum01
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Age
28
Remove .zip extension. Check line ending before use (I opened it with sublime on osx, says file has unix line ending though)

Thanks :) Removed the .sh when copying it to the device and made it executable. It worked like a charm.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2015
Messages
93
Reaction score
25
Age
41
Excellent work OjczeNasz!

Anyone figured out how to use this method to P3P or P3A? There is no wifi, but there is USB. A year ago there was a legend about connecting to the telnet through USB, but nobody confirmed it.

Maybe for P3P and P3A we need just a driver and phantom will get IP (as phone and tethering) and we can 'get in' through the Telnet.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
2
Age
34
I think I will wait more till a specialist of you find a safer and easier way for ce users to make our signal stronger. Lots claimed bricked devices. Well done for research although
 
D

Deleted member 61170

Guest
I think I will wait more till a specialist of you find a safer and easier way for ce users to make our signal stronger. Lots claimed bricked devices. Well done for research although

If your nifty with a soldering iron, I've published a PDF guide on how to unbrick them. You won't (can't) brick your device if you only edit djiled.sh though, if that makes you feel any more comfortable :)
 
D

Deleted member 61170

Guest
Excellent work OjczeNasz!

Anyone figured out how to use this method to P3P or P3A? There is no wifi, but there is USB. A year ago there was a legend about connecting to the telnet through USB, but nobody confirmed it.

Maybe for P3P and P3A we need just a driver and phantom will get IP (as phone and tethering) and we can 'get in' through the Telnet.

Buy me one and I'll have a look ;-)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
2
Age
34
If your nifty with a soldering iron, I've published a PDF guide on how to unbrick them. You won't (can't) brick your device if you only edit djiled.sh though, if that makes you feel any more comfortable :)
Saw your pdf . Nice work. What can I achive if I only edit djiled.sh?? 27dbm ?? Fcc instead of CE?? After soo many posts I think one should post a new and more complete step by step guide and the apps needed to complete .
 
  • Like
Reactions: Davey B
D

Deleted member 61170

Guest
Saw your pdf . Nice work. What can I achive if I only edit djiled.sh?? 27dbm ?? Fcc instead of CE?? After soo many posts I think one should post a new and more complete step by step guide and the apps needed to complete .
djiled.sh *I believe* runs on startup, so you can get it to call your own .sh script containing the changes you want to make. I.e. FCC instead of CE, ch 13, 27dbm etc...

If I find the time over the next few days I'll put together another PDF for getting the thing to work in the first place :)

Did a distance test yesterday and managed to get out to 1800m with stock antennae!
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
2
Age
34
djiled.sh *I believe* runs on startup, so you can get it to call your own .sh script containing the changes you want to make. I.e. FCC instead of CE, ch 13, 27dbm etc...

If I find the time over the next few days I'll put together another PDF for getting the thing to work in the first place :)

Did a distance test yesterday and managed to get out to 1800m with stock antennae!
Are you ce user too? I have sent my drone to dji and I am waiting to receive it to install argtek 10dbi . I want to do this mod but I want a step by step guide to avoid bricking a new drone. Send it back after 5 days I bought it and I don't want to brick it . A new guide would be appreciated a lot :)
 
D

Deleted member 61170

Guest
Are you ce user too? I have sent my drone to dji and I am waiting to receive it to install argtek 10dbi . I want to do this mod but I want a step by step guide to avoid bricking a new drone. Send it back after 5 days I bought it and I don't want to brick it . A new guide would be appreciated a lot :)
I am CE :)
 

Recent Posts

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
142,466
Messages
1,462,564
Members
104,284
Latest member
schoolnetindialtd