Professional My P3P has the Flu !

Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
35
Hey everyone,

Phantom 3 Pro has been flying perfect since I acquired it, but it wasn't until last week I went to fly with a friend who just purchased his Mavic and we did a hover test and thats when I noticed my P3P aggressively shaking/wobbling.
I took it home, gave it a good look over, spun up the motors with props as I held onto it to see if anything looked out of place, nothing was wobbling when I held it, I took the props off and checked the motors and how they were seated - tightened motor screws, nothing out of the norm there. Tried 3 other sets of props but the wobble is still there..
Could it be that ALL my 3 sets are out of balance? or has anyone else had this issue?

I've uploaded some videos which might help explain this better :)




Would love to find a solution for this so I can get back up in the air - missing flying already! :p

Cheers,
Brad Cooper
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
631
Reaction score
233
Age
72
:DHave you done the compass, and IMU procedures? You didn't land that thing in a pot field did you? LOL
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
35
Hey guys,

Yeh I've only just recently did a IMU calibration and Gimbal cal as I had horizon tilt - my compass was calibrated also.
All my props are from OEM DJI and I've only ever hand caught it when landing. It lives in a travel case too!
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
644
Reaction score
255
Age
25
My Advanced did this ( higher frequency and not as bad ) from new I changed to the other set of props which halved the problem but it's still there .
I was thinking of buying a balancer .
You would think if anything is going to cause motor mount cracking this would be high on the list .
Have you checked for hair line cracks around the motor bolts?
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Age
67
Looks like the props need some balancing. I got the Du Bro balancer and it works great but you have to buy the rod for P3 separately. Not all the props you get are balanced specially the clones. I ordered a set of clones 'cause it's a lot cheaper but I ended up balancing all four. Did a lot of sanding. Not worth it.


Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,280
Reaction score
10,435
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
SmItLeR, try setting all of the gains to 80%.

DJI-GO-Gain-Settings.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: BoydBros and sinxa
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
35
Hi Msinger, cheers for the info - I'll give this a crack tomorrow morning and revert back with my findings. I've also acquired more props to try out in a hope that I've just been very unlucky.
I'm also going to go back through and do a complete top to bottom recal of everything - can't hurt !
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
1,833
Reaction score
293
also calibrate your controller when bird is off.
when you don't fly for so long the potentiometers inside the controller can "mis-read" and send wrong data to the bird, because what i see from your videos is that bird is getting
really fast input from the controller as if you were moving alerion stick left and right really quick.
give it a shot.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
405
Reaction score
64
Location
Fife, Scotland
Mines done this after a software upgrade. The next upgrade seemed to sort it out. Seems weird that software can contribute to it. I don't know much about the racing drones but I know they guys tune what is called pid's to get nice smooth flight. We can't do that with dji stuff but I am sure dji does when releasing firmware. Just a guess.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
35
So I've managed to fix my gimbal vibration issue.
I spent the time today to create a level platform, calibrated the IMU, Gimabl, Compass and Transmitter - put on the same set of props that I used when the vibration was happening, and this was the result:

Then I took off the props and started some work with the drone. The first thing I needed to do was to complete a walkthrough of my property, this is when I noticed that the vibration would come back sponteneously, at random points :

I walked around the house after that trying to invoke thi vibration, but I couldn't do it. so weird!

I'm leading to believe it is a software issue, it's not a prop, motor issue.

Cheers for reading! :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: sinxa

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,582
Messages
1,439,958
Members
101,364
Latest member
kccumm