CE and FCC Automatic switch?

Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
87
Reaction score
17
Age
43
Hello everyone,
I would like to buy the new Air 2 drone. If I buy the one that's being sold in the USA which works with FCC transmission power, and I take it to another country which has only the CE models sell there, will my drone still function in FCC mode or it will automatically drop to CE transmission power?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
1,371
Reaction score
586
Location
PL
All previous drones do switch the mode, so it's reasonable to assume MA2 does that as well.
Note that there's a separate forum for Mavics:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Itay

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,430
Reaction score
10,525
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
If I buy the one that's being sold in the USA which works with FCC transmission power, and I take it to another country which has only the CE models sell there, will my drone still function in FCC mode or it will automatically drop to CE transmission power?
It will auto switch. There isn't a separate FCC and CE version.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Itay and JoBe

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,430
Reaction score
10,525
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
653
Reaction score
221
Age
38
Hello everyone,
I would like to buy the new Air 2 drone. If I buy the one that's being sold in the USA which works with FCC transmission power, and I take it to another country which has only the CE models sell there, will my drone still function in FCC mode or it will automatically drop to CE transmission power?

Thanks.
so why does it say FCC in the pecs on my box ? Does it mean i live in Canada DJI will send me the FCC type ?
question asked so much here! search must be busted?

from one of the others threads on this:
It doesn't matter where you buy your drone and controller, you get the same model.
The drone identifies and uses the appropriate mode (FCC or CE) based on where you use the drone.
Having the CE mark [or FCC] just signifies that it has approval for those areas. The drone still switches based on where you use the drone.

edit - except see the next post from @quaddamage
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
1,371
Reaction score
586
Location
PL
It doesn't matter where you buy your drone and controller, you get the same model.
Not for Mavic Mini. That drone still switches zones, but CE version has different RF amplifier - broader band, lower amplification.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoBe
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
653
Reaction score
221
Age
38
Not for Mavic Mini. That drone still switches zones, but CE version has different RF amplifier - broader band, lower amplification.
ty for correcting. :)
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2019
Messages
39
Reaction score
15
Got a photo?
No sorry ! It is written very small and my three year old cell phone can't even focus on that size. but if you still have your box on the side it is labeled FCC ID: MT1SS51905... on mine.
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,430
Reaction score
10,525
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
No sorry ! It is written very small and my three year old cell phone can't even focus on that size.
Ah, your cell phone? I thought we were talking about drones here.
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,430
Reaction score
10,525
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
Wow. Sorry. I thought you were referring to the FCC ID on your cell phone.

My MA2 is supposed to arrive on Thursday. So, I can check out my box then.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,503
Messages
1,448,283
Members
102,293
Latest member
Chuck98382