What is the Best way to increase the range of my Phantom Pro 4 v2 ?

Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
39
Reaction score
6
Age
29
Hello,
I was looking into options to increase the range of my Phantom Pro 4 v2 and ive come across 2 options.
1 - non invasive way to add a windsurfer slide on to the existing controller antennas.
2 - add some hardware to the controller - need to open it up and more expensive.

If tried option 1 - bought a cheap one on amazon that was recommended
link: Amazon.com: Ultimaxx Copper Parabolic Antenna Signal Range Booster for DJI Phantom 4, P4 pro, P4 Advanced, Phantom 3 Pro, Advanced and 4K Inspire 1 Controller: Toys & Games
It did increase it but not significantly enough for me to justify having this thing on the controller.
Im more curious if anyone has done option 2 and added some new antennas on the controller?
Im very new to these drones and most the mods im seeing are for previous models. even the phantom 4 ones im seeing are making me nervous as i have the 2.0 and i dont know if the controller is different - i know it has a new method to communicate with the dji done then previous models and idk if needs some specific type of antennas.
one that i found for like $180 is this one:

Has anyone here successfully modified the controller of the phantom pro 4 v2 ?
Could you share your overall experience with this and how much improvement you are seeing? also the item you bought price you paid?
Thanks
 
Last edited:

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,365
Reaction score
8,385
If tried option 1 - bought a cheap one on amazon that was recommended

It did increase it but not significantly enough for me to justify having this thing on the controller.
I've had great performance from one like that.
What is it doing/not doing for you?
What's your flying environment?
Have you tried switching transmission bands to 2.4 or 5.8 MHz?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
39
Reaction score
6
Age
29
I’m in a residential city area. Lots of 2 floor houses and other buildings. Seems if I fly far out and go low towards the ground it lose connection. Prob due to buildings in the way etc. was thinking a stronger antenna option might be enough to pass thru to keep the connection.
yes I’ve changed to 5.8 as well. Helps a little bit not enough.
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,365
Reaction score
8,385
I’m in a residential city area. Lots of 2 floor houses and other buildings. Seems if I fly far out and go low towards the ground it lose connection. Prob due to buildings in the way etc. was thinking a stronger antenna option might be enough to pass thru to keep the connection.
yes I’ve changed to 5.8 as well. Helps a little bit not enough.
In an urban area there will always be a lot of interference that will compete with your signal.
Your signal will not pass through buildings and other obstacles and expensive modifications won't get around that limitation.
To achieve long distances, you need to fly in an interference-free location.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
39
Reaction score
6
Age
29
Ok I would still like to get some insight on someone who has installed a new antenna like the one I posted. Thanks
 

ianzone

**P4**
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,385
Reaction score
4,133
Age
50
Location
EARTH.NZ
I use itelite on my p4,,,these panels and one you posted are awsome and will improve your situation ...unsure on range due to I like to have it return,,,makes for good image aswell
15905317921436063097643483232140.jpg
 
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
39
Reaction score
6
Age
29
I use itelite on my p4,,,these panels and one you posted are awsome and will improve your situation ...unsure on range due to I like to have it return,,,makes for good image aswell View attachment 118831
Wow very nice. What did it cost you ? Was it easy to install ? Any down side besides bulky?
also what are all those markings/stickers on your controller ?
 

ianzone

**P4**
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,385
Reaction score
4,133
Age
50
Location
EARTH.NZ
Wow very nice. What did it cost you ? Was it easy to install ? Any down side besides bulky?
also what are all those markings/stickers on your controller ?
Yeh dont fit in box no more ha,,this was it here,,I also use Samsung TAb A6 10/1 for my screen,,its like holding a brick but can handle that,,I got tripod for remote and harness for remote depending what I doing,,I normally just hold it,,it brought the full kit which came with all leads ready to clip in and go,,install was easy but take time with USB module ribbons,,this panel was best thing I ever done,,na unfortunately no p4p ones but have a search ,,I'm sure they got some
Screenshot_20200527-164917_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20200527-164825_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20200527-165042_Chrome.jpg
 

ianzone

**P4**
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,385
Reaction score
4,133
Age
50
Location
EARTH.NZ
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
169
Reaction score
96
Age
75
Location
Normal, IL USA
Hello,
I was looking into options to increase the range of my Phantom Pro 4 v2 and ive come across 2 options.
1 - non invasive way to add a windsurfer slide on to the existing controller antennas.
2 - add some hardware to the controller - need to open it up and more expensive.

If tried option 1 - bought a cheap one on amazon that was recommended
link: Amazon.com: Ultimaxx Copper Parabolic Antenna Signal Range Booster for DJI Phantom 4, P4 pro, P4 Advanced, Phantom 3 Pro, Advanced and 4K Inspire 1 Controller: Toys & Games
It did increase it but not significantly enough for me to justify having this thing on the controller.
Im more curious if anyone has done option 2 and added some new antennas on the controller?
Im very new to these drones and most the mods im seeing are for previous models. even the phantom 4 ones im seeing are making me nervous as i have the 2.0 and i dont know if the controller is different - i know it has a new method to communicate with the dji done then previous models and idk if needs some specific type of antennas.
one that i found for like $180 is this one:

Has anyone here successfully modified the controller of the phantom pro 4 v2 ?
Could you share your overall experience with this and how much improvement you are seeing? also the item you bought price you paid?
Thanks
Legally...have 20/10 eyesight.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Allan8056

Capt KO

Capt KO
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
1,806
Reaction score
1,434
Age
68
Location
IRB, Fl
Why? Understand trying to correct a bad signal but that’s not your problem. Can’t receive a signal through solid objects by any means. Drones now being built for longer ranges are increasing battery size and flight time. Both needed for the return flight.

Good luck and enjoy that new bird. It’s great as is. 👍

PS; I have a closet full of accessories purchased during those heady new drone days. Most are never used. Enjoy
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
866
Reaction score
488
Why? Understand trying to correct a bad signal but that’s not your problem. Can’t receive a signal through solid objects by any means. Drones now being built for longer ranges are increasing battery size and flight time. Both needed for the return flight.

Good luck and enjoy that new bird. It’s great as is. 👍

PS; I have a closet full of accessories purchased during those heady new drone days. Most are never used. Enjoy
I like your opinion as it's true. Seems that he wants to get good signal beyond the buildings
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone and Capt KO
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
331
Reaction score
132
Age
27
Location
U.S.A.
IMG_0891.jpg
IMG_0891.jpg
IMG_0892.jpg


I use a flat panel antenna and like others said besides it giving you clearer reception ( no choppy feed , green screen ,it also increases your distance as long as there’s nothing between you and your drone ,go on top of a hill where you can see 5-6 miles ,on your roof , stay away from standing near a metal pole or fence when flying, it makes the signal travel further but nothing makes it penetrate structures ( and anyone who try’s to sell you an antenna and tells you otherwise is a liar and they only want your money.....

I’m usually only limited by my battery and wind conditions my video feed is rock solid 4 + miles away
IMG_0209.jpg
 
  • Wow
Reactions: Capt KO

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
138,860
Messages
1,433,445
Members
100,816
Latest member
karl_frederik