V2 Gimbal tilt mod for $2.99

Joined
Aug 17, 2014
Messages
297
Reaction score
26
Location
Massachusetts
I did this mod awhile ago, (V2) and it works great.
The new Firmware allows for progressive gimbal tilt speed, so I used a PS3 joystick pot.

This pot is $2.99 here: http://www.miniinthebox.com/3d-repair-p ... product4-4


Remove the original pot from the controller, and solder 3 wires to go to the new pot. (I used 3 siamesed wires from an old IDE hard drive cable.)
Remove one pot and the pressure switch from the dual joystick pot.
I made a bracket from a tin can, and attached it all to the bottom of the controller.





Video of it working here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JyYDBNXpB4
 

Attachments

Joined
May 28, 2014
Messages
1,565
Reaction score
714
Location
Southern Idaho USA
:D
Great job CapnBob!
I enjoy your input on this forum! Thank you.

MHL
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
Sonoma County, Ca
Cap'n bob
Will this work on pv2+. If so could you share the wiring as to which lead goes to each terminal . Looks awesome.
Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2014
Messages
297
Reaction score
26
Location
Massachusetts
Helidad, thts was done on a V2+. The pot is symmetrical, so as long as you go from the center hole on the board to the center terminal on the pot, it will work. IThe "end" connections are interchangeable. Here are more images to clarify.

The circuit board end



The Pot end.
Notice the extra holes. Mount the pot very close to the tube as shown.
I screwed up originally. I mounted it 1/4" too far to the "right"(in the photo; where the extra hole is) and the housing wouldn't close.
It interfered with the left joystick.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 17, 2014
Messages
297
Reaction score
26
Location
Massachusetts
Bouncer said:
And by (V2) you mean the new remote :?:

Rgds,

Bouncer


No, this was done on an "old" P2V+ (V2?) purchased last spring.
The "new remote" has the wheel for gimbal control, and wouldn't need this mod.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
CapnBob said:
No, this was done on an "old" P2V+ [...] "new remote" has the wheel ... and wouldn't need this mod.
I imagined this required an extra channel on the remote or something; I will try this mod.

Thanks!

Rgds,

Bouncer
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
340
Reaction score
1
Location
Great White North
Did the same mod but placed the potentiometer in the front part of the Tx to avoid wires between the two parts.
Placed it in the right hand upper corner so I could use the pot without taking hands off the sticks. I also added a switch with resistors so I could have a super-slow mode as well as normal speed on the tilt. Used old controller for ps3 that I already had laying around.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
3,530
Reaction score
625
Location
Sydney Australia
Nice mod Captain. Effective and cheap.
I ordered mine and it came with the board. I'll do this mod next on my spare controller.

My current is similar to cougars setup, except the switch on the back isn't momentary. Its a 3 position and setup for slow tilt up/downs. I set the speed of the tilt with the 10k pot in front and activate with a switch at the back and moves gracefully up/down.



 
Joined
Aug 17, 2014
Messages
297
Reaction score
26
Location
Massachusetts
"Mako 79",

I think I like that better. The pot can be fidgety, and a bit hard to control speed smoothly. I think 99% of the time you are looking for the
most pleasing, unhurried speed anyway. I like this because you can find that speed, and it is repeatable.
I may incorporate this into another remote. Thanks!


Mako79 said:
Nice mod Captain. Effective and cheap.
I ordered mine and it came with the board. I'll do this mod next on my spare controller.

My current is similar to cougars setup, except the switch on the back isn't momentary. Its a 3 position and setup for slow tilt up/downs. I set the speed of the tilt with the 10k pot in front and activate with a switch at the back and moves gracefully up/down.



 
Joined
Nov 3, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
Sonoma County, Ca
CapnBob
I tried your mod but it doesn't work. Hooked up just like the pic you sent me. I did notice that I used a, inner 3D controler analogs 3 pin PS4 pot. Is that my problem? Yours was a PS3. Or is there something I missed.
Thanks in advance
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,329
Messages
1,437,557
Members
101,186
Latest member
Sam m