Under the Hood - Production Model

Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
242
Reaction score
48
I decided to take my Phantom 3 Pro apart today to see how she ticks. Given that I'll need to do this for the Flytrex Live I've ordered, I thought I'd give it a go now. I may have voided my warranty, but to be honest I can't see how they would know if the lid has been removed... (except for a few very minor dents because those clips holding the lid on are a bloody pain in the ***!)

Anyway, onto the pictures (those pics that look upside down were taken with the Phantom on its side, looking down from above):

thumb_IMG_3521_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3516_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3515_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3514_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3510_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3509_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3508_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3507_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3505_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3504_1024.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
242
Reaction score
48
That SD card under the motherboard won't pop out because the metal slider holding it in place is itself held in place with glue.

I couldn't take the whole motherboard out either because those LED circuit boards are stuck in place - looks like they melted the plastic protrusion they were mounted on to hold it in place.

The side arm clips can be popped off by poking a small object through the vents and pushing the plastic retainer off the clip.

The central clips were really difficult to remove though, hence using a ruler to pry them apart. Here are some more pics showing the clips in detail.

thumb_IMG_3539_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3537_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3536_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3535_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3513_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3512_1024.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
1,104
Reaction score
143
Age
43
Location
Lee. UK
WOW you have gone from wondering about that memory card to stripping her back. You went for it :D good man. Cheers for the pics.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
242
Reaction score
48
WOW you have gone from wondering about that memory card to stripping her back. You went for it :D good man. Cheers for the pics.
heh thanks, I had hoped to look at the SD card contents, but it's fully glued in there. If I were to take all the LED boards out and motors off it may be possible, but I wasn't willing to go that far! :)

Key thing is, she still flies after all that!
 

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,951
Reaction score
3,224
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
If I recall correctly with reference to Mohan's pre-production photos...
The production P3 LED modules have wires instead of flex circuits and the motor wires seem much better strain relieved at the main PCB with slots and adequate adhesive/sealer.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
242
Reaction score
48
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
853
Reaction score
469
Location
Big Bear, CA
heh thanks, I had hoped to look at the SD card contents, but it's fully glued in there. If I were to take all the LED boards out and motors off it may be possible, but I wasn't willing to go that far! :)

Key thing is, she still flies after all that!
Don't bother. You can see all contents of the sdcard when you connect the craft to a computer and put it in flight data mode.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
489
Reaction score
130
I decided to take my Phantom 3 Pro apart today to see how she ticks. Given that I'll need to do this for the Flytrex Live I've ordered, I thought I'd give it a go now. I may have voided my warranty, but to be honest I can't see how they would know if the lid has been removed... (except for a few very minor dents because those clips holding the lid on are a bloody pain in the ***!)

Anyway, onto the pictures (those pics that look upside down were taken with the Phantom on its side, looking down from above):

View attachment 19126 View attachment 19127 View attachment 19128 View attachment 19129 View attachment 19130 View attachment 19131 View attachment 19132 View attachment 19133 View attachment 19134 View attachment 19135
How exactly does the Flytrex device hook up its power source to the Phantom?
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
1,104
Reaction score
143
Age
43
Location
Lee. UK
Im sure plenty will be going back to mohans post now and saving pics and comparing them that's for sure. allemtura i think your maybe the first to post pics from under the hood on a production model. It was Interesting to hear your observations on them NOR17RW,
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
527
Reaction score
207
wow - thanks. I have been too busy flying... this is good stuff

Revision on board is ending 07 (my model was 06)
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
242
Reaction score
48
Don't bother. You can see all contents of the sdcard when you connect the craft to a computer and put it in flight data mode.
Thanks for the tip! How do you put it in flight data mode please? Will it just appear like a USB drive in this mode?
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
242
Reaction score
48
How exactly does the Flytrex device hook up its power source to the Phantom?
I think it will be via the CANBUS port (or P3 equivalent) as the P2V+ CANBUS version didn't need you to solder wires to a power source
 

ctp

Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
238
Reaction score
89
Location
Reston, VA
Is there still a GPS antenna mounted to the top of the shell or is it all in the big black cube?
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
489
Reaction score
130
I think it will be via the CANBUS port (or P3 equivalent) as the P2V+ CANBUS version didn't need you to solder wires to a power source
It's the "or equivalent" part that I'm trying to figure out. Will Flytrex REQUIRE everyone who purchases it to crack the hood of their Phantoms and possibly void all their warranties?
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
242
Reaction score
48
Is there still a GPS antenna mounted to the top of the shell or is it all in the big black cube?
GPS antenna is indeed still mounted to the top of the shell, with a cable that then connects to the motherboard. It seems that out of the many photos I took, not one of them shows this! :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: ctp
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
3,858
Reaction score
1,149
Location
Long Island, NY
It's the "or equivalent" part that I'm trying to figure out. Will Flytrex REQUIRE everyone who purchases it to crack the hood of their Phantoms and possibly void all their warranties?
It was the same with all prior versions. Not sure why popping the hood wouldn't be required ever... You need power and a "data" connection, not like you can splice the battery pins and expect GPS data...
 
Joined
May 4, 2015
Messages
520
Reaction score
144
Age
47
Thanks. Saved me from doing this. I saved all the pics for future reference
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,449
Messages
1,401,414
Members
98,660
Latest member
Brooklyn's Daddy