RC Lost Signal P3S Firmware Version 1.2.40+

Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
59
Age
76
My P3S has recently started to display the lost signal after only a short time after takeoff within a few meters of hight and distance. In every incident the AC RTH safely to the home point, but I couldn’t cancel the RTH due to lost RC signal. I today picked up an additional error message “Sensor Error - Restart Aircraft” Could not restart normally and switched off AC and RC and started again to link and get to GPS takeoff mode. Never took off or flown in ATTI MODE. After scanning as many threads and e-mail as I could find I decided to do the following to try to rectify.
  1. Calibrated IMU successfully
  2. Calibrated compass every time I tried to fly
  3. Re-linked the AC & RC successfully
  4. Always took off in GPS after home point was registered
My aircraft details are : P3S
 

Attachments

  • 666E6C66-78FC-488B-A562-C57C232F6F05.jpeg
    666E6C66-78FC-488B-A562-C57C232F6F05.jpeg
    331.9 KB · Views: 51
  • 543007A7-FA2A-4021-BF1F-35D496490EE6.png
    543007A7-FA2A-4021-BF1F-35D496490EE6.png
    1.4 MB · Views: 53
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
59
Age
76
I forgot to complete my post, apologies
My aircraft details are.
  • P3S firmware version 1.2.40+ (Latest available for download 1.9.20)
  • Basic Fly Database 01.00.01.09
  • Flight Controller Serial No. 02Z1010524
  • DJI GO APP version 3.1.66
I was wondering if there is a process of elimination that I can follow to arrive at a solution? Does RC also have its own firmware that needs to be updated, or should I just concentrate on the AC firmware?
I have not crashed the AC nor am I aware of any incident that could cause the loss of RC signal. Any suggested process or procedure will be appreciated.
Regards
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,751
Reaction score
8,745
Does RC also have its own firmware that needs to be updated, or should I just concentrate on the AC firmware?
If the drone was performing normally until recently, it's not a firmware issue and tinkering with firmware isn't going to fix whatever the problem is.
 

ianzone

**P4**
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,904
Reaction score
4,662
Age
51
Location
NZ
Um try reinstall app,calibration every flight wont fix either,just cause it comes up with square around it dont mean it needs doing just incase you were,,I think toggling s1 switch might cancel but cant remember
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
442
Reaction score
229
Age
78
WiFi signal strength into out of receiver and transmitter. Check orientation of drone and antennas, loose antennas, internal radio frequency wiring, corrosion or loose connectors.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
59
Age
76
Um try reinstall app,calibration every flight wont fix either,just cause it comes up with square around it dont mean it needs doing just incase you were,,I think toggling s1 switch might cancel but cant remember
Reinstalled app. AC & RC linked as normal and flew about 30-60 seconds before RC lost signal appeared! It initiated RTH and landed on the HP. What scares me is YOU cannot cancel RTH on th3 display or b6 toggling the S1 or S2 switches. After lost RC signal, if the AC lands slightly off the HP during RTH, there is nothing 8 can do to stop it from landing where it shouldn’. The RC commands do not register with the AC.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
59
Age
76
WiFi signal strength into out of receiver and transmitter. Check orientation of drone and antennas, loose antennas, internal radio frequency wiring, corrosion or loose connectors.
I opened the RC to check that the antenna/paddle wires are connected, an$ made very sure that the antenna (upright) and paddles (45degree angle) are correctly directed to comm max with AC.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
59
Age
76
It seems that the lost signal is not a distance or hight problem, but a time problem. I flew 20m high and 40m distance and after 30-60 sec it switched from GPS (green and all systems go!) to red and RC Lost Signal. The only way signal was re-established after landing was when AC/battery switched off and on again and RC on again. It never lost video/camera feed, just signal between AC & RC
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
59
Age
76
sounds like antenna. do you have more than 1 AC RC that you can bind and try - half splitting the problem
Thanks, but by No I don’t have nor easy access to one, but I can try to retrofit the original P3S single antenna that I replaced with ARGtek last year to get extra distance, and see if it solves the problem.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
59
Age
76
Latest update. Today I upgraded my firmware to latest available for P3S as some of the issues raised were addressed in the later versions of firmware. Took a test flight and after 60 sec it again switched from green GPS mode to red with RC signal lost, RTH and landed safely. After reading suggestions in P4 forum to eliminate causes of “RC signal lost”, I fired up my P3S but flew a short mission in Litchi, without a signal loss after a few minute. Will fly a longer mission on Monday when I can go into countryside. Weird, but it worked! Did my preflight check with DJI GO app and “Aircraft warming up” appeared on screen. Is this normal?
Thanks for your interest
 

Attachments

  • 593961D8-C62E-477C-B1BB-BB6A26D6CD94.jpeg
    593961D8-C62E-477C-B1BB-BB6A26D6CD94.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 28

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
1,130
Reaction score
776
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
Latest update. Today I upgraded my firmware to latest available for P3S as some of the issues raised were addressed in the later versions of firmware. Took a test flight and after 60 sec it again switched from green GPS mode to red with RC signal lost, RTH and landed safely. After reading suggestions in P4 forum to eliminate causes of “RC signal lost”, I fired up my P3S but flew a short mission in Litchi, without a signal loss after a few minute. Will fly a longer mission on Monday when I can go into countryside. Weird, but it worked! Did my preflight check with DJI GO app and “Aircraft warming up” appeared on screen. Is this normal?
Thanks for your interest
Put the drone in a cold place,like a refrigerator or freezer for 30 minutes. Then do a IMU calibration. That will remedy the aircraft warming up issue.
 
Joined
May 24, 2017
Messages
133
Reaction score
22
Age
59
Location
Thuringia Germany
Latest update. Today I upgraded my firmware to latest available for P3S as some of the issues raised were addressed in the later versions of firmware. Took a test flight and after 60 sec it again switched from green GPS mode to red with RC signal lost, RTH and landed safely. After reading suggestions in P4 forum to eliminate causes of “RC signal lost”, I fired up my P3S but flew a short mission in Litchi, without a signal loss after a few minute. Will fly a longer mission on Monday when I can go into countryside. Weird, but it worked! Did my preflight check with DJI GO app and “Aircraft warming up” appeared on screen. Is this normal?
Thanks for your interest
The warming up AC is normal for 30 secs. The rear LED are blinking up in yellow befor it record the home point too and will change to blinking green to GPS ready to fly.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
59
Age
76
In the final chapter of this lost signal saga, I can report that is was caused by a faulty WiFi unit in the P3S. I traded it in, as is, and for a modest $350 received a brand new out of the box P3S. It also don’t vibrate like the old one and I look forward to some smooth and enjoyable flying.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,515
Messages
1,448,431
Members
102,306
Latest member
ixf4414