Professional Phantom 3p return to home not accurate

Joined
Mar 6, 2018
Messages
27
Likes
0
Age
31
#1
Hi all. As the title says.

Have a 3p and done only 1.5hours of flying so far.
How accurate should the self landing be? It says it uses the small camera underneath and the Manual says make sure you take off from somewhere where the area has contrasting colours to help identify its landing spot. So I bought a 1m landing bright orange pad and took off from it. After 15 mins I asked it to land, it started off ok maybe a meter or two off (hard to tell when it’s still decending) but as it got closer it started drifting away. I had to take over the landing and cancel the self landing as it ended up drifting about 6 meters from the landing pad. Is this right? If not what can I check on it?
Many thanks

Steve
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2016
Messages
3,135
Likes
1,276
Location
Watkinsville, Georgia
#2
After 15 mins I asked it to land, it started off ok maybe a meter or two off (hard to tell when it’s still decending) but as it got closer it started drifting away. I had to take over the landing and cancel the self landing as it ended up drifting about 6 meters from the landing pad. Is this right? If not what can I check on it?
The home point is recorded as a GPS location. It can be off up to double digit feet. Not much you can do about that. Landing accuracy as I said is based on the GPS point. You can NEVER expect 100% accuracy. Always allow plenty of clearance, for landings if you are autonomously doing so.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2018
Messages
27
Likes
0
Age
31
#4
I was under the impression it uses the small camera underneath when taking off to see where it’s taking off from and when return to home is pushed it uses the camera and the gps to help land it accurately. Or am I mistaken?

Thanks. Steve
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2016
Messages
3,135
Likes
1,276
Location
Watkinsville, Georgia
#5
I was under the impression it uses the small camera underneath when taking off to see where it’s taking off from and when return to home is pushed it uses the camera and the gps to help land it accurately. Or am I mistaken?
Yes, you are mistaken. The VPS, ( Camera underneath) is only for in theory smooth and controlled landings when close to the home point. The VPS has nothing to do with the actual home point location. Personally, I never use the VPS. I find that it has terrain issues at times and causes issues. I just turn it off.
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
12,995
Likes
7,157
#8
I was under the impression it uses the small camera underneath when taking off to see where it’s taking off from and when return to home is pushed it uses the camera and the gps to help land it accurately. Or am I mistaken?

Thanks. Steve
The P4pro hasthe precision landing system, not the p3 series.
But you don't need to let rth do the landing.
You can cancel rth and resume control and choose your landing spot better than it can.
 
Likes: capposteve
Joined
Mar 6, 2018
Messages
27
Likes
0
Age
31
#9
The P4pro hasthe precision landing system, not the p3 series.
But you don't need to let rth do the landing.
You can cancel rth and resume control and choose your landing spot better than it can.
Thanks. That’s exactly what I did in the end. I just wanted to clarify that it doesn’t have that precision landing on the p3
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
129,725
Messages
1,347,164
Members
94,529
Latest member
Trocar49