P3A will not "Follow Me"!

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,215
Reaction score
1,832
Age
69
Location
IRB, Fl
How can I tell how many sats the Shield is seeing Oso? I can't find anything about GPS/satellites in the Shield menus or installed Apps?? I presume the Sats shown in the .txt file is what the drone is seeing?
First let me apologize for my confusion about the GPS modes. Was thinking P4. Not P3
I installed a cheap app called GPSdiagnostics so that I could tell the satellites strength being received by my devices (iPad + mini4). Does not tell actual # of sats, just signal strength. 3 green over 75% good enough for follow me.
Good luck.

Note; my iPads not cell, Bluetooth to Garmin gps.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoBe and 3rdof5

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,215
Reaction score
1,832
Age
69
Location
IRB, Fl
GPSdiagnostics $2.99 works iPads, Shield? Something similar?
5FB0773F-CB37-4BE2-B01A-029490765437.png 5ACDA410-5DEF-4D6F-833F-5CE74C57C70D.png 3748C90E-38FB-4F0C-9277-83FDBAC9EF81.png
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,565
Reaction score
8,583
How can I tell how many sats the Shield is seeing Oso? I can't find anything about GPS/satellites in the Shield menus or installed Apps?? I presume the Sats shown in the .txt file is what the drone is seeing?
The .txt file shows the number of sats received by your Phantom.
There are several GPS apps available for Android devices.
Here's one I use (called GPS Status) and the screenshot is from when I was flying with the Nvidia Shield
It's showing which sats are being received by teh tablet and individual signal strengths.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoBe and Capt KO
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
895
Reaction score
417
Age
82
Many thanks Meta4, I'll have a look at that!!

Just downloaded that, hope it'll run when DJI GO is running?? We'll see..........
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
895
Reaction score
417
Age
82
Right! Tried things out again today and can report that using my old iPhone SE the drone flew perfectly, POI, Follow Me etc.

The Nvidia Shield was the same as yesterday, POI no problem but refused to run the Follow Me.

Plenty of sats registering on the Shield and drone but no luck.
IMG_7606.jpg


One has to ask what is the difference between the two. Have I got something OFF on the Shield that should be on apart from Location, which is ON.
Flight logs, both very similar except for the Shield GPS Follow Me just didn't work😩😩😩
 
  • Sad
Reactions: Capt KO

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,215
Reaction score
1,832
Age
69
Location
IRB, Fl
Don't know if it makes any difference, using the Shield, are you setting yourself as the home point instead of take-off point when in follow me mode? Still guessing, probably shouldn't.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
895
Reaction score
417
Age
82
Don't know if it makes any difference, using the Shield, are you setting yourself as the home point instead of take-off point when in follow me mode? Still guessing, probably shouldn't.
Doe that option come up on the screen when you go into FM? The only option I could see was "Apply".
 

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,215
Reaction score
1,832
Age
69
Location
IRB, Fl
Choose it first in RTH settings. Gives both choices You (remote) or Home (take off location).. Then go to Follow Me.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
895
Reaction score
417
Age
82
Choose it first in RTH settings. Gives both choices You (remote) or Home (take off location).. Then go to Follow Me.
Ah, I hadn't seen that. It was quite sunny and the screen was hard to see other than the blue "Apply" at the bottom.
I also didn't realise that the Follow Me was tied into the RTH function.
I've now changed the setting so will see what happens.........watch this space👍
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
895
Reaction score
417
Age
82
Choose it first in RTH settings. Gives both choices You (remote) or Home (take off location).. Then go to Follow Me.
Nah! Didn't think it could be so simple 😩 Exactly the same, seems to go into the program and then comes up with the error message.
Most odd. What could be so different between my iPhone and the Nvidia GPS???
Oh well, not the most important thing in life, but I just like things to work🙄🙄
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
895
Reaction score
417
Age
82
Just had a chat with DJI help and they just said they don't support the Nvidia Shield K1, end of!!
Can one run. one of the more recent DJI GO programs, would it help? I'm currently just running the basic GO App: 3.1.59. Drone FW: 1.11.20 RC: 1.9.2
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
895
Reaction score
417
Age
82
I/we seem to have run out of ideas on this one??

I notice that my Nvidia Shield K1 is running Android version 7.0. There is and 8.0 available. I wonder if it would help if I updated to it?
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
184
Reaction score
49
Age
60
One obvious difference between USING your iphone and the tablet is the USB-CABLE.
I would try a different cable with the Shield.
I haven't used FM much with my old P3P and Shield K1, but always 'worked' (it's NOT active Track).
 

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,754
Reaction score
3,800
Location
Western US
Many thanks Meta4, I'll have a look at that!!
Just downloaded that, hope it'll run when DJI GO is running?? We'll see..........
I/we seem to have run out of ideas on this one??
From what you’ve said earlier, you are using the Follow Me in the GO app. Have you tried the Follow mode in Litchi?

Also, just as a shot in the dark have you tried the USB connection type (MTP vs PTP) in Android?

Important Disclaimer - I’m not an expert on those modes, so I don’t know if it matters which one is set with regards to your Shield consistently sharing GPS location data with the app. Also sometimes changing this mode results in no ability to connect to GO so you should obviously change it back if that happens. Consider this before making any changes.

If anyone knows for sure that the connection type does not matter in this case, please chime in for the benefit of @cheddarman now and also any future readers of this thread. TIA!
 
  • Like
Reactions: tribar
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
895
Reaction score
417
Age
82
Um, hadn't thought of that, being the most obvious difference between the two. I'll give out a go and get back.

Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
895
Reaction score
417
Age
82
From what you’ve said earlier, you are using the Follow Me in the GO app. Have you tried the Follow mode in Litchi?
I don't have Litchi installed but will do so if all else fails.

Also, just as a shot in the dark have you tried the USB connection type (MTP vs PTP) in Android?
Drat, misunderstood this suggestion, thought you meant a different USB cable which I have just done with no change! I'm already set up for MTP so will try PTP next time (v very carefully).

Would using the Micro USB instead of the standard one make any difference or are they more or less in parallel?

Cheers
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,565
Reaction score
8,583
Just had a chat with DJI help and they just said they don't support the Nvidia Shield K1, end of!!
Can one run. one of the more recent DJI GO programs, would it help?
DJI love saying that but it's meaningless.
"Don't support" = not on our pathetic list.
They hardly ever test any new tablets and rarely update their list.
Many of the best flying tablets were never on their inadequate list.
The DJI Go version won't make much difference if the one you have already has the follow-me feature.
I notice that my Nvidia Shield K1 is running Android version 7.0. There is and 8.0 available. I wonder if it would help if I updated to it?
It's unlikely to make any difference that you'd notice.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,768
Messages
1,441,752
Members
101,507
Latest member
TJWalworth