I bought the wrong iPad

Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
45
Reaction score
16
Age
55
Did a bunch of research and decided on the iPad Air 2, Wifi. It's working well, but today I tried out the feature where you set the home point to the remote's location. Pilot popped up a message saying "The mobile device's GPS signal is weak and its location cannot be acquired". Turns out the Wi-Fi version of the iPad Air 2 does not have GPS. Luckily I'm still in 30 day return window so it's going back and I'm getting the cellular version with the GPS.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Mauk

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,108
Reaction score
10,347
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
I bought the cellular version of the iPad Mini 2 for this very reason.

FYI, you don't have to enable the cellular service to use the GPS. However, the iPad will be ~$100 more then.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
45
Reaction score
16
Age
55
Yeah I have no plans to enable the cellular but I have to buy the cellular version to get the GPS.
 

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
9,274
Reaction score
5,559
Location
Live! From New York!
I bought the cellular version of the iPad Mini 2 for this very reason.

FYI, you don't have to enable the cellular service to use the GPS. However, the iPad will be ~$100 more then.
I did the same. No service, cost more but has GPS.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dirkclod
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
77
Reaction score
12
Location
U.S. Virgin Islands
Just to clarify the iPad Air 2 WiFi will not work?

What features do you lose with the WiFi version?...vs. the Cellular version?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
1,060
Reaction score
309
Just to clarify the iPad Air 2 WiFi will not work?

What features do you lose with the WiFi version?...vs. the Cellular version?
Cellular comes with GPS. GPS enables you to set your controller as the home point if your moving around while flying (walking, boating etc.).

Cellular is nice because it enables you to get mapping in the Pilot App without having to cache it first from a wifi network. Someone mentioned tethering their iPAd to their iPhone while flying. Not really a good idea as that's communicating over a 2.4ghz network the same spectrum that your controller uses for the RC control and video feed from your Phantom.

Now there are Android phones out there that let you tether using the 5ghz spectrum from the phone. This wouldn't have the same risk as using 2.4ghz. People may say the 2.4ghz tether works fine but I personally won't risk it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Mauk
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
122
Reaction score
36
Age
49
Get a T-mobile iPad Mini 2 (Retina) used on Swappa.com, T-mobile gives 200mb free data a month for life of the tablet which is more than enough to download maps even if you change locations every day. I use this tablet with a Hoodivision visor and it works perfectly.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
45
Reaction score
16
Age
55
I choose the iPad air 2 over the mini because it also has a barometer.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
1,060
Reaction score
309
Get a T-mobile iPad Mini 2 (Retina) used on Swappa.com, T-mobile gives 200mb free data a month for life of the tablet which is more than enough to download maps even if you change locations every day. I use this tablet with a Hoodivision visor and it works perfectly.
You can do this without having any other t-mobile plan?
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
77
Reaction score
12
Location
U.S. Virgin Islands
Ok thank you for the clarification.

I have the iPad Air 2 wifi.....dont mind cache maps and will most likely not move during flight.

So I think what I have might be find. Thank you for your help.
 

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
9,274
Reaction score
5,559
Location
Live! From New York!
Ok thank you for the clarification.

I have the iPad Air 2 wifi.....dont mind cache maps and will most likely not move during flight.

So I think what I have might be find. Thank you for your help.
I also use my mini as a GPS navigator on trips, and if I want to have data for a trip it is by-the-month with AT&T so no big deal for one month.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dirkclod
Joined
Apr 26, 2014
Messages
93
Reaction score
34
Cellular comes with GPS. GPS enables you to set your controller as the home point if your moving around while flying (walking, boating etc.).

Cellular is nice because it enables you to get mapping in the Pilot App without having to cache it first from a wifi network. Someone mentioned tethering their iPAd to their iPhone while flying. Not really a good idea as that's communicating over a 2.4ghz network the same spectrum that your controller uses for the RC control and video feed from your Phantom.

Now there are Android phones out there that let you tether using the 5ghz spectrum from the phone. This wouldn't have the same risk as using 2.4ghz. People may say the 2.4ghz tether works fine but I personally won't risk it.
I didn't know that. I've been tethering with my iPhone. Could I first link it where I'm at, cache the maps, then disconnect the iPhone tether. So far, I have not had any issues or glitches. What could happen?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
138
Reaction score
29
Age
66
Location
Brewster,WA
Did a bunch of research and decided on the iPad Air 2, Wifi. It's working well, but today I tried out the feature where you set the home point to the remote's location. Pilot popped up a message saying "The mobile device's GPS signal is weak and its location cannot be acquired". Turns out the Wi-Fi version of the iPad Air 2 does not have GPS. Luckily I'm still in 30 day return window so it's going back and I'm getting the cellular version with the GPS.
so glad to hear this. thanks!!
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
1,060
Reaction score
309
I didn't know that. I've been tethering with my iPhone. Could I first link it where I'm at, cache the maps, then disconnect the iPhone tether. So far, I have not had any issues or glitches. What could happen?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes I tether my iPad before flight sometimes if I see in the Pilot App while I'm at the flying site that I don't have mapping or the mapping isn't detailed enough. Key is to tether it then go into the maps and scroll around your area of flight and let it update the maps. Zoom in on the areas you think you will be flying as well as that will cache more detail. You never know when that detail may come in handy if your P3 goes down and you have to go looking for it based on its last location on the map.

Worst that can happen if you tether over 2.4ghz is you could lose control and crash. Is that likely? Probably not but I personally wouldn't chance it. Most likely is that you'll experience some other symptom like laggy video feed or limited distance etc. when I experience issues like that I can almost always correlate it to my P3 being near a neighborhood (within 150ft or so). Lots of 2.4ghz wifi signals coming out of people's homes.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
45
Reaction score
16
Age
55
The new iPad has arrived. Really like having the GPS. It's nice to be able to set the return point to the remote, but also the app now accurately show the position and direction of the remote.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Mauk
Joined
Jan 24, 2014
Messages
1,221
Reaction score
196
What happens if you have no signal? Was in a remote location today and couldn't acquire GPS. A cool feature would be to zoom in and select a home point on the map regardless of GPS.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Mauk
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
1,129
Reaction score
353
Location
Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
Cellular comes with GPS. GPS enables you to set your controller as the home point if your moving around while flying (walking, boating etc.).

Cellular is nice because it enables you to get mapping in the Pilot App without having to cache it first from a wifi network. Someone mentioned tethering their iPAd to their iPhone while flying. Not really a good idea as that's communicating over a 2.4ghz network the same spectrum that your controller uses for the RC control and video feed from your Phantom.

Now there are Android phones out there that let you tether using the 5ghz spectrum from the phone. This wouldn't have the same risk as using 2.4ghz. People may say the 2.4ghz tether works fine but I personally won't risk it.
Teather using BT and not wifi, works just fine. Just turn on your Hotspot, turn off wifi and pair via BT to your iPad, this is what I do and have no issue.

**UNDATE - Ipad mini2 overheats and lags in hot weather, sold it and got the Air 2 cell, much better.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
138
Reaction score
29
Age
66
Location
Brewster,WA
The new iPad has arrived. Really like having the GPS. It's nice to be able to set the return point to the remote, but also the app now accurately show the position and direction of the remote.
more reading I see. I did not see how to set the return point to the remote. I also bought the ipad mini 2 cellular and just received my Phantom3 advanced the other day still studying up on it
 
Phantom Drones from EALLRC.com

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,746
Messages
1,413,988
Members
99,398
Latest member
terryturbo2976