Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ESC status error after hard contact with tree and a few seconds in shallow water

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by mnosek, Aug 15, 2018.

  1. mnosek

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes... I flew Phantom 3 Advanced into tree and it came down into shallow (about 4 inches of water near shore) water where I grabbed it less than 3 seconds later. Anyway, now getting "ESC status error. Restart aircraft." Searching internet and this forum suggest ESC errors might come from bad motors and/or bad motherboards. Anyone know how to figure out which (if either)? I am willing to give replacement parts a go, but would like some hint at which part is likely the problem. If I start guessing, with my luck, it will be wrong. Any troubleshooting to figure out if motherboard? If it is one of the motors, which one?
     
  2. solentlife

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3,322
    Likes Received:
    1,311
    Location:
    UK Brit living Latvia
    Believe me - if you went into water .............. and you now have ESC error ........... I would not be optimistic about this. Water is NOT your friend.

    If it was me and most is still working - I would have DJI do the repairs - you have no idea what damage that water has done ... if that water is not clean FRESH WATER - then it can short out any electrical parts it contacts ...

    My P3S went into FW river ... totalled .. not economic to repair. I only managed to salvage the motors ... and near a year later one has failed as well .. leaving my Quad 450 grounded ... which I transferred them to.

    Its my opinion ...

    Nigel
     
  3. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    6,902
    Likes Received:
    2,615
    Location:
    Australia
    The most likely issue will be fried FET in the inverter stage if the ESC. Don’t worry too much about the water putting you permanently out of action, the PCB is very well coated so unless it’s salt water all will be good....
     
    quaddamage likes this.
  4. quaddamage

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    198
    Location:
    PL
    Yup, either fix or replace the ESC Center Board.

    Since you see the ESC error message in your app, OFDM board is working fine.
    If you also have video, then Gimbal Top Board is working fine.

    Btw, you can look at pictures of every board within the bird here:
    o-gs/dji-firmware-tools
     
    umanbean likes this.
  5. umanbean

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Georgia, US
    THANK YOU for that link! A real Treasure Trove of information!

    I've always wanted to see inside without having to pop the top on mine.

    My P3P is solid at the moment, but you never can tell... ;)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - ESC status error Forum Date
Fix ESC Status Error on Ph3 Pro Ph3 Adv or Ph3 Std Pro/Adv Discussion Jul 2, 2018
ESC status error, persists even after multiple restarts AC 1.11.20 Pro/Adv Discussion Jun 29, 2018
Phantom 3 pro ESC status error Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 16, 2018
Need a little help fixing "ESC status error". (ID SMD components) Pro/Adv Discussion Dec 2, 2017
Advanced ESC Status Error... HELP!!! Phantom 3 Help Sep 3, 2017