Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
28
Reaction score
8
I'll preface by saying... I'm NOT attempting to circumvent FAA recommendations so please don't chastise me for asking this question without seeing & understanding the context.

I'm standing near the base of a +2,000-ft mountain and launching my P3P. I want to fly up the side of the mountain without rising more than 400-ft above the ground DIRECTLY BELOW the aircraft. However, since it's basing it's AGL altitude on the spot from which it launched, I can't climb any higher than 1,664-ft (500 meters).

Is there a way to override this setting in the DJI app? or do I have to switch to Litche in order to accomplish my goal?

Thanks in advance for your time and assistance!!!

-Scoop
 
  • Like
Reactions: air kuld
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
294
Reaction score
56
Age
69
I had this happen by accident for a short period, several updates ago. I could just fly right through 120m, even though that was what the max was set for. I only noticed it a couple of times, since I wasn't usually that high. Unfortunately, I don't know what the firmware numbers were!
 

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
9,272
Reaction score
5,565
Location
Live! From New York!
Contact DJI and see if they can help you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Newbieguy
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
3,513
Reaction score
1,994
Location
Northwest USA
Never tried it, but what if a mission were set in Litchi: edit waypoints/set waypoints relative to ground.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
1,317
Reaction score
564
Location
PL
While we are very much not discussing hacks here, there are places where these are discussed.

Flight limit is imposed within the Flight Controller firmware, which contains a list of Flight Parameters with bounding values of each of these parameters.
Altitude limit is bound to 500m there. I'm not saying you could change it, just that it's there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: air kuld
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,239
Reaction score
1,952
Age
65
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
There were reports of being able to circumvent by initiating RTH and then forcing it to climb ... plus other stupid suggestions ...

I tried all of them I found (in a safe location) .... none worked at all ...

Nigel
 
  • Like
Reactions: Flybynite
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
2,513
Reaction score
815
Location
Surrey, England
As has been said time and time again - it there for a reason, which is safety, otherwise we'd have idiots trying to fly close to and amongst airliners, causing absolute havoc and really endangering lives and, in the process, killing the hobby for many and the livelihoods for a few.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Texas Gonzo
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
3,513
Reaction score
1,994
Location
Northwest USA
Yes Flying higher than set max is not advisable especially where I live, right under a Int'l airport approach. But this might work. Fly up to mountain at highest max alt. Land, take off again. Most likely finding a clear open area with signal would be difficult, but if the drone lands, then takes off again it's "New" max alt would be reset.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Newbieguy
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
111
Age
64
Fly up to mountain at highest max alt. Land, take off again. Most likely finding a clear open area with signal would be difficult, but if the drone lands, then takes off again it's "New" max alt would be reset.
Yeah, but you' need to reset the home point since the 500ft is relative to that. Which means you'll have to be very careful on RTH. Not saying it won't work - it will, just not with land and take off simplicity.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2017
Messages
148
Reaction score
57
Age
60
Location
Las Vegas, NV
You are allowed to fly higher than 400 feet if you're within 400 feet of a structure that exceeds that limit. (I can't see why a mountain wouldn't fit that description) Then you're allowed to fly 400 feet above that level. (That's for benthinking08 in case he was unaware of that exception) Litchi will allow me to enter 900m as the maximum altitude AND 500m for the RTH when the controller and aircraft are disconnected but I've not tried to see if it will retain those values. DGI GO will not let you enter a number beyond 500m. I'm surprised Litchi doesn't behave similarly. There are mountains that high here but I don't have the nerve to attempt it. Even if you could, I think it would be a very short flight after having to climb that high.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
2,513
Reaction score
815
Location
Surrey, England
You are allowed to fly higher than 400 feet if you're within 400 feet of a structure that exceeds that limit. (I can't see why a mountain wouldn't fit that description) Then you're allowed to fly 400 feet above that level. (That's for benthinking08 in case he was unaware of that exception)
I think you'll find you shouldn't be flying close to a structure and in any event, I don't believe what you're stating is correct. AFAIK, in the US it's 400ft max, no if or buts, just like it is here in the U.K.
Litchi will allow me to enter 900m as the maximum altitude AND 500m for the RTH when the controller and aircraft are disconnected but I've not tried to see if it will retain those values. DGI GO will not let you enter a number beyond 500m.
It won't exceed 500m - it's hard coded in the AC.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
13
Age
66
What if, you go to the top of the mountain, can't be too hard if its only 2000' and take off from there, would the A/C set that 2000' limit and you could fly higher from there? Just a thought, then you could film the mountain going down and reverse the video so it looks like you're flying up.;)

Terry
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoBe and EyeInStein
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
24
Reaction score
8
Location
Virginia
It can't be overridden in the app because that is set in the firmware of the drone. If you know anything about firmware then you know the answer to your question. Google is your friend.
 
  • Like
Reactions: aka1ceman
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
58
Reaction score
8
Age
63
bla ... bla ... always scattered and elusive bla bla about these limits.

PH3P (with added LiHV 4000 mAh or two smaller units splitted).
Last flight, two days ago, around high wild mountains, far from people, towns, airports, etc, ... sometimes near to eagles and other birds: take-off point 900 m, flight up at 2600 m.
3 km far from HP, also with a bit too much of wind against during the outward.
Flight time about 25 minutes, about 15% remaining power when landed at HP.

This is possible (not so easy), I say normal with the right hardware and software, but need knowledge (hidden here and not only here).
I do not say more, want just to point out something on this argument, hated here.
You can do almost the same with other DJI drones and of course with self made drones, but obviously with a lot more difficulties.

The Earth is not flat, the restrictions, as are wrote and conceived today by general regulatories, is a wide nonsense in many place of this planet, even if have a very understandable base, related to security, but a curse for who needs to do this for various necessities and works that do no harm or risk to others.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
653
Reaction score
220
Age
38
What if, you go to the top of the mountain, can't be too hard if its only 2000' and take off from there, would the A/C set that 2000' limit and you could fly higher from there? Just a thought, then you could film the mountain going down and reverse the video so it looks like you're flying up.;)

Terry
Good plan and its still below the max service ceiling of 6000m.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,029
Messages
1,444,236
Members
101,793
Latest member
Jose R Nonis