Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Zenmuse H3-3D GoPro Hero4 facing down

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by Davidov, Aug 19, 2017.

  1. Davidov

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello All, I am new to drones and my Phanthom 2 crashed in to a field and damaged the upper bracket on the Zenmuse H3-3D, I changed the bracket but now on power up the gimbal faces the GoPro downwards and a red led shows on the gimbal. I have updated the reset the gimbal and updated the firmware but still have the same problem. I checked that the tilt motor shaft had not slackened off in the crash but still have the same problem. Any advice would be most appreciated, thanks in advance. David.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Does the gimbal go through its calibration when the P2 is powered up? Have you calibrated X1 (tilt control) in both the RC and P2 assistant software? Have you checked closely that the ribbon cable under the tilt motor hasn't been damaged?

    If after checking everything above and it still doesn't work then you should do a factory reset as in the following video.



    If after doing the reset and you no longer see the gimbal in the upgrades you'll need to log into DJI site for the software.

    Let me know what the results are.
     
  3. Davidov

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Jason, I did the factory reset of the gimbal and calibrated X11 on the RC software. I'll try the whole process in the morning again.
     
  4. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    You'll also need to do an advanced IMU calibration as well since you crashed.
     
  5. Davidov

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Jason, I reset the gimbal and re-installed the firmware again and the GoPro is level now with the gimbal responding to movement .The led is still red on the rear of the gimbal though.
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    The red LED is normal for the gimbal.
     
  7. Davidov

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok Jason, Thanks for your help.
     
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Good to hear you have it operational again. I'm busy setting up three cameras for the eclipse this afternoon.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Zenmuse GoPro Hero4 Forum Date
FPV for Phantom 2, Zenmuse H3-3D, GoPro Hero4 Black FPV (First Person View) Jan 22, 2015
$450 - Phantom 2/Zenmuse H3-3D/Gopro 3+ silver + accessories/Feiyu G3 gimble Classifieds May 17, 2017
Phantom 2 - 3D Zenmuse H4 + GoPro Black. It will not start... Phantom 2 Discussion Jul 30, 2016
GoPro Hero 4 + Zenmuse Gimbal H3 3D Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal Jul 26, 2016
Wanted: Crashed or Swamped Phantom 1, Zenmuse Gimbal, GoPro Hero3 Black Classifieds May 23, 2016