Yellow LED stays on remote P3 Standard

Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
2
Age
53
Hi all,
Anyone else had this problem?
The LED on my P3S remote seems to be stuck on all the time.
I turn the remote to the OFF position and I still have a Yellow/Green LED on.
See picture.
I have tried letting the remote go flat, tried resetting the WIFI (as advised by DJI).

DJI have asked me to send the remote back to USA, but that will take a minimum of
20161121_141750.jpg
12 weeks turnaround.
Any ideas would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Age
62
I had the same problem, it was because I had unplugged it from the computer before I had exited the program. Try connecting back to your computer, do a stick calibration and save the settings and exit the program, then unplug the USB cable.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
6,083
Reaction score
1,326
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
I had the same problem, it was because I had unplugged it from the computer before I had exited the program. Try connecting back to your computer, do a stick calibration and save the settings and exit the program, then unplug the USB cable.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
You lost me,
Why would you have it connected to a computer, and what program would you be using?

Rod
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Age
62
Are you completely new to how DJI products work? You download the appropriate program from the DJI website to update firmware etc of both the Phantom and the Transmitter. You can also calibrate the controls on your transmitter, it should have come with a USB lead.

I think you need to read your manual fully, I have given you a solution that worked for me. But it seems you do not fully understand the workings of what you have purchased.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
345
Reaction score
93
Age
70
Location
Upper Canada Village
Are you completely new to how DJI products work? You download the appropriate program from the DJI website to update firmware etc of both the Phantom and the Transmitter. You can also calibrate the controls on your transmitter, it should have come with a USB lead.

I think you need to read your manual fully, I have given you a solution that worked for me. But it seems you do not fully understand the workings of what you have purchased.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
Well he is not alone!!!! Connect the controller to the computer,? Why? Run the program??? What program?
My DJI programs run on my mobile, I suspect his does too. What do you do, haul a PC on you back when you go flying??
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
6,083
Reaction score
1,326
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Are you completely new to how DJI products work? You download the appropriate program from the DJI website to update firmware etc of both the Phantom and the Transmitter. You can also calibrate the controls on your transmitter, it should have come with a USB lead.

I think you need to read your manual fully, I have given you a solution that worked for me. But it seems you do not fully understand the workings of what you have purchased.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
And you are talking about a P3S?

Rod
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
6,083
Reaction score
1,326
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
2
Age
53
Thanks Nantmoel, As the topic says I have the Standard.
I have tried everything I can think of.
  • letting the remote go flat
  • recalibrating the sticks (via the app)
  • relinking the drone
  • relinking the wifi
The good news is, it still seems to function ok, just the LED stays on.
DJI were unable to help, they want me to send it back which means I will lose it for 2 months or more.

Since the remote is working OK, I might just fit a bypass switch for the battery to disable all power when the remote is not being used.
I am hoping to find someone who has crashed their P3S beyond repair so I can buy their remote off them.
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
6,083
Reaction score
1,326
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Yes must be a stuck switch, take it apart for a look see, does the light go green when charged?

Here is the hard to find classifieds.
Classifieds

Rod
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Age
62
Thanks Nantmoel, As the topic says I have the Standard.
I have tried everything I can think of.
  • letting the remote go flat
  • recalibrating the sticks (via the app)
  • relinking the drone
  • relinking the wifi
The good news is, it still seems to function ok, just the LED stays on.
DJI were unable to help, they want me to send it back which means I will lose it for 2 months or more.

Since the remote is working OK, I might just fit a bypass switch for the battery to disable all power when the remote is not being used.
I am hoping to find someone who has crashed their P3S beyond repair so I can buy their remote off them.
Mine was exactly the same, remote worked fine. I hope you find a solution.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
2
Age
53
Yes must be a stuck switch, take it apart for a look see, does the light go green when charged?

Here is the hard to find classifieds.
Classifieds

Rod
Thanks Rod, light changes from yellow to green when charged.
Took it out for a flight yesterday, everything is working perfectly (except the light staying on).
Pulled the remote apart, I can't see anything wrong, so it is making me think it is a software issue maybe or a diode / transistor gone faulty.

Think I will just live with it until I can justify a Mavic Pro.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RodPad

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
6,083
Reaction score
1,326
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Thanks Rod, light changes from yellow to green when charged.
Took it out for a flight yesterday, everything is working perfectly (except the light staying on).
Pulled the remote apart, I can't see anything wrong, so it is making me think it is a software issue maybe or a diode / transistor gone faulty.

Think I will just live with it until I can justify a Mavic Pro.
Hum, well you can use it for a night light, update us on how long it takes to discharge. :rolleyes:

Rod
 
  • Like
Reactions: Pharm and Darren_P
Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
2
Age
53
Follow up.
The battery seems to last about a week and a half from being fully charged if I dont fly. Still no issues when flying, all appears to work ok.
I was looking on ebay a week ago and there was a used controller up for auction. Poor guy crashed his P3S into the Pacific Ocean. I won the auction $35AUD, cosidering a new one is $170AUD I am very happy.

Question though, is the firmware updated to the Phantom or to the controller or both?
I updated mine about 2 weeks ago to 1.7.90 with the old remote, but the replacement wanted to update to 1.7.90 as well.

Sent from my SM-T530 using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
114
Reaction score
15
Follow up.
The battery seems to last about a week and a half from being fully charged if I dont fly. Still no issues when flying, all appears to work ok.
I was looking on ebay a week ago and there was a used controller up for auction. Poor guy crashed his P3S into the Pacific Ocean. I won the auction $35AUD, cosidering a new one is $170AUD I am very happy.

Question though, is the firmware updated to the Phantom or to the controller or both?
I updated mine about 2 weeks ago to 1.7.90 with the old remote, but the replacement wanted to update to 1.7.90 as well.
Darran... when you had it apart, did you disconnect the battery for a minute or two and then reconnect it? That should reboot the controller and that is the next thing I would do. I've never seen a yellow light on mine. There is a red and green LED in there and if yellow is lit means they both are lit.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,513
Messages
1,439,322
Members
101,314
Latest member
GI Joe