Professional Vision positioning question

Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
33
i bought a p3p off of eBay for a decent deal..everything looked legit as far as the description pictures and seller ratings, but I received my p3p today and noticed that there's 2 gray cables coming from the gimbal..the one that is supposed to plug into the vision positioning isn't plugged into it, and after looking closer there is nowhere to plug it into..nothing looks damaged or broken so I'm wondering what that cable is for and if it's safe to fly without it..any help would be appreciated


**i had a phantom 1 before I bought this, so the whole gimbal thing is new to me**
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
4,190
Reaction score
1,558
Location
palm harbor florida
did you due a imu on level surface
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
33
did you due a imu on level surface
I'm not 100% sure what an imu is (sorry I'm a rookie) but I just tried turning everything on without blades..control came on and I upgraded firmware..but wouldn't connect to the aircraft..when I first turned the drone on the gimbal rotated and then went stationary but after about 5 seconds went limp
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
1,272
Reaction score
463
Location
U.S./ Canada
There are 2 grey multiwire plugs. One (wider one) comes from inside belly of drone to the large plug in on gimbal top. The short narrow grey multiwire goes from the small plug @ the gimbal top to the Vision Positioning plug in.

So a large and small plug in located on the gimbal and a small plug in on the vision position module.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
33
There are 2 grey multiwire plugs. One (wider one) comes from inside belly of drone to the large plug in on gimbal top. The short narrow grey multiwire goes from the small plug @ the gimbal top to the Vision Positioning plug in.
That's what I was thinking, but there is nowhere to plug the short narrow one into on the vision positioning housing..Im not sure what's going on here..I may have got scammed
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
1,272
Reaction score
463
Location
U.S./ Canada
Sounds almost like a combo of two different models.....
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,761
Reaction score
10,687
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
Did you buy it as new or used? Got a photo of the cables?
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
33

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 348
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    980.6 KB · Views: 294
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
1,272
Reaction score
463
Location
U.S./ Canada
The pic looks about right but the small multi wire from the gimbal top must be able to snap into the Vision end just the same as it did on the gimbal. Basicall a short multiwire cable withe the same type plud on each end of cable. AND the same female plugin in each, the gimbal and on the vision module.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
33
The pic looks about right but the small multi wire from the gimbal top must be able to snap into the Vision end just the same as it did on the gimbal. Basicall a short multiwire cable withe the same type plud on each end of cable. AND the same female plugin in each, the gimbal and on the vision module.
But with the female plug not on the vision module..is there any way to connect the gimbal or the aircraft itself to the RC
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,761
Reaction score
10,687
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
Is it possible that the small gray cable is reversed? The end that's sticking out looks more like the end that plugs into the camera.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
1,272
Reaction score
463
Location
U.S./ Canada
Brandon....Not really, at least not properly. Is the female multi wired plug on the vision board or simply missing?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
1,272
Reaction score
463
Location
U.S./ Canada
I can't tell from mine if it only uses 6 pins out of a larger number located on the vision piece or if it is like yours and just uses 6 out of of those numerous ones you have.

Will it plug in properly with what you have?
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,761
Reaction score
10,687
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
The cable appears to have different connectors on either end.

large_HK8A0740.jpg
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
33
Brandon....Not really, at least not properly. Is the female multi wired plug on the vision board or simply missing?
It's completely missing..I appreciate everyone's responses and effort to help..but I found out that the serial numbers on the box match for the rc and aircraft but not for the camera..not exactly sure why the rc wouldn't connect to the craft, but spoke to the eBay seller just a few minutes ago and I'm taking it by fedex tomorrow for a full refund..Guess sometimes it's better to pay a little more to make sure you know exactly what you're getting..Now gotta find me a legit p3p once I get my money back
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
33
It appears there are 2 different vision modules (one is part 36 and one is part 37?) not sure what I got..but hopefully they're sincere about the refund and I'll start from scratch and get a brand new one in a "sealed" box
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,761
Reaction score
10,687
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
There are also two different 4K cameras.
 

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
142,358
Messages
1,461,846
Members
104,162
Latest member
Boufou