Sudden "crazy", then crash

Reaction score
I am new to this forum so please let me know if this is posted in the wrong place or is just not appropriate.

I have been flying my DJI Phantom Pro 3 for like 2 years and mostly without incident. I would consider myself an experienced but not expert pilot. I have crashed a couple of times but nothing like this.

The drone took off as normally but i heard a strange vibration / noise as it left the ground. I commented to my friend on this but continued to fly. Around 45 seconds later, as I was looking at the camera on my phone and lining up my shot the drone went crazy and just started tumbling out of the sky. At the time I heard the strange noise / vibration again, it tumbled and flipped, hit a wire on the way down and hit the ground.

I had aftermarket carbon fiber props on the drone at the time. I have flown with these 10-15 times without incident. They are much stiffer than the stock props but have flown just fine.

My theory is that a prop was cracked on take-off, then failed in the air, but I have no way to prove this. Nobody saw a piece fall off the drone before losing control but 2 props were cracked / damage on crash: which might have happened when they hit the ground or when they hit the wire. Unfortunately I was not recording when the incident happened.

I have a few "speed error" and "compass errors" in the logs but I don't know exactly what this means.

Any help analyzing the log would be greatly appreciated! I bought a new frame and new props to rebuild it but want to make sure the fault was not motors or electronics or battery before flying again.

Thanks!

It looks like you lost a prop at about 49 seconds into the flight. You can see your Phantom spinning in circles at that point in the flight log.

DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

Where was the missing prop when you retrieved your Phantom? Or were they all attached?

Reactions: JoBe and Camaross
Sure looks like a lost prop.

Capture.PNG