Spontaneous crash

Reaction score
So I just bought a p3s and I’m new to flying drones. I bought the p3s second hand from a man who claims that the aircraft had never flown or been fired up, because of his lack of confidence and experience. He didn’t want to crash his Phantom and would rather just sell.
Anyway, I’ve had 24 successful flights with this aircraft and just about 3hrs of flying time. It has been amazing! Love the drone and what it was capable of doing!......But this morning at 7:30am I took the drone up to 300’ to capture a couple sunrise shots and I was gunna land and play with the shots I got...but as I was climbing the aircraft went berzerk and started spinning out of control while announcing compass error and switching back and forth from GPS mode to ATTI. It didn’t end well and the phantom is now totaled! : ( So my question is has anyone experience anything like this? And will DJI cover for a new drone if they find the crash was due to a malfunction of the on board compass? I know it was not due to Pilot error, all status’s were good before takeoff and I was in GPS mode with 10-11 satellites connected. I couldn’t imagine if the circumstances were different and the drone spun out of control with a crowd of people in close proximity....luckily it was just me out in the sticks of Alaska trying to get a quick pic...
Thanks in advance for any reply’s.

So I just bought a p3s and I’m new to flying drones. I bought the p3s second hand from a man who claims that the aircraft had never flown or been fired up, because of his lack of confidence and experience. He didn’t want to crash his Phantom and would rather just sell.