Smart Return-to-Home?

Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
10
Reaction score
5
Location
SWFL
I'm new to the Phantom 3 Advanced and I'm trying to figure out what this button means. It's in the new DJI Go App 2.8.3 version. It's on the Main Controller Settings > Advanced Settings. I've looked in the manual and there is no mention of it. I have always left it on but I would like to know what it does if anyone knows?


thumb_IMG_3313_1024.jpg


Thanks in advanced.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
4,190
Reaction score
1,558
Location
palm harbor florida
it turns on rth
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,455
Reaction score
10,539
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
When enabled, your Phantom will start automatically returning home when it detects it only has enough battery left to make it back to the home point. The DJI GO app will display a message and allow you to cancel that return if you'd like. When disabled, it only disables smart RTH. The failsafe RTH functions will still work.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
1,355
Reaction score
495
Location
Brecon Beacons Wales UK
It works very well. I tried my longest ever flight. Almost 15,000'. RTH warning came on before I ever lost signal. I let it come back. It was overhead at exactly 30% not bad at all considering my P3 had flown almost 5.5 miles in total.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
33
Reaction score
2
Age
53
Location
Chapin South Carolina
When enabled, your Phantom will start automatically returning home when it detects it only has enough battery left to make it back to the home point. The DJI GO app will display a message and allow you to cancel that return if you'd like. When disabled, it only disables smart RTH. The failsafe RTH functions will still work.
Quick question. Phantom 3 standard. When rc signal lost and app says disconnected and I have no telemetry and blank screen,will it still rth?
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,455
Reaction score
10,539
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
When rc signal lost and app says disconnected and I have no telemetry and blank screen,will it still rth?
RTH is auto initiated 3 seconds have the remote controller signal disconnects. It doesn't matter what's on the screen and/or even if your mobile device is powered on.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,742
Messages
1,450,374
Members
102,572
Latest member
vaniobandito