Regarding Altitude problem Phantom 4Pro

Joined
Apr 29, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
30
Hi,
I'm new in this world with drones.
Yesterday I were on a project my work finished so we want to document it with an drone movie.
But when I reached height, 8meters I got this message "Maximum Flight Altitude reached. Adjust altitude in MC settings if required".
I flight indoor in a warehouse.
I didn't understand how to fix this? Any suggestions?
20200428_100854.jpg
20200428_102731.jpg
 

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
15,682
Reaction score
9,658
Age
68
Location
Amory Mississippi
Can’t help you but cool pictures. I used to install Sprull
pallet rack‘s all over the US. Brings back some fond memories.
Welome to the forum and going to move this to the P4P section where you can get some help.?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
30
Can’t help you but cool pictures. I used to install Sprull
pallet rack‘s all over the US. Brings back some fond memories.
Welome to the forum and going to move this to the P4P section where you can get some help.?
Thank you, I worked at Swedens biggest assembly company for different pallet racking solutions. This project is in Norway for a stacker crane warehouse.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dirkclod
D

Deleted member 120647

Guest
Are you going to try and fly in the aisles between that racking????
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: Emillind

Meta4

Moderator
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
15,172
Reaction score
9,110
But when I reached height, 8meters I got this message "Maximum Flight Altitude reached. Adjust altitude in MC settings if required".
I flight indoor in a warehouse.
I didn't understand how to fix this? Any suggestions?
The reason is explained on P55 of the manual:
Height is restricted to 26 feet (8 meters) when the GPS signal is weak and Vision Positioning is activated.
Height is restricted to 98 feet (30 meters) when the GPS signal is weak and Vision Positioning is inactivated.

You had no GPS but the drone was able to use VPS to hold position.
But VPS only works to a max of 10 metres.
Switch off the VPS and you will be able to fly to 30 metres, but you won't have horizontal position holding or brakes.
That might be risky in that environment.
 
  • Like
  • Wow
Reactions: Capt KO and pdqdl
Joined
Apr 29, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
30
The reason is explained on P55 of the manual:
Height is restricted to 26 feet (8 meters) when the GPS signal is weak and Vision Positioning is activated.
Height is restricted to 98 feet (30 meters) when the GPS signal is weak and Vision Positioning is inactivated.

You had no GPS but the drone was able to use VPS to hold position.
But VPS only works to a max of 10 metres.
Switch off the VPS and you will be able to fly to 30 metres, but you won't have horizontal position holding or brakes.
That might be risky in that environment.
Thank you, maybe a dumb question but how to I turn off the VPS?
 

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,787
Reaction score
2,311
Age
71
Location
IRB, Fl
Please use prop guards! Practice flying without VPS out in the open. Then practice more. Be safe
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
1,246
Reaction score
599
Age
84
Cool pictures Emilind! I would think there would be all sorts of magnetic fields around in amongst all that steel so would be very careful flying!!
I had a similar message the other day on my P3A - posted it here.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
315
Reaction score
88
Age
62
Please use prop guards! Practice flying without VPS out in the open. Then practice more. Be safe
Makes no sense, out in the open GPS will take over.
ATTI-mode is the way to go for practising/practicing.
 

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
142,317
Messages
1,462,084
Members
104,081
Latest member
xXIOSCARIXx