Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard phantom 3 std link button HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by mauro310, Sep 1, 2016.

  1. mauro310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi!
    I recently bought a dji phantom 3 std and after using it sometimes the linking button fell off and now i cannot link the aircraft with his rc. i would like to know if someone knows how to install it. it has 4 contacts in the mainboard but i think theres only 2 which i need to connect.
    Thanks for your help!!
    Mauro
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,636
    Likes Received:
    7,779
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Got a photo of what you're trying to connect?
     
    Neon Euc likes this.
  3. mauro310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1

    Attached Files:

  4. mauro310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    im new on this blog and i dont know if you recive the notification if i dont put reply to your coment! Anyway now i have pressed it.
    Thanks for your help!!
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,636
    Likes Received:
    7,779
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Yes -- a reply is sent to me even if you do not quote my post.

    I was not able to find a close-up photo of the underside of the center board. From the photos on DJI's website, it appears it's connected at all four points.[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. mauro310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think you are right!! Thank you very much for your help and rapid answer!
    Another question, what would be the reason that makes me link the remote control to the aircraft every time i turn it on to use it?
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,636
    Likes Received:
    7,779
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    I'm not sure. I've never heard of such an issue. If nobody chimes in, then try contacting DJI support for help.
     
  8. mauro310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok. Thank you very much for your help!! i will buy an oem button and install it.
    Thank you very much!
    ill let you know how it went.
     
  9. mauro310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    hi! i installed the button as you told me and everything went well!!
    Thank you a lot for your help!
    Hope nobody have the same issue as me!
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,636
    Likes Received:
    7,779
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Good! I'm happy to hear it worked out for you :)
     
  11. 5thconcept

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just discovered i have the same issue!! how did you fix it and what button did you buy to fix this ? or did you just buy a new circuit board! anyone know what part i would need to buy or what points i would need to connect in order to force the 2 seconds to make it link ?
     
  12. mauro310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    HI! I bought an oem button like those that come in Chinese toys that matched the size and I welded it in place using tin. All four contacts have to be welded in order to work. I'll leave a picture to show the button that I bought. Another option is to buy the mainbord that is around 140 dollars I think...
     

    Attached Files:

  13. ifixwell

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
  14. lk43

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    scotland
    Hi I have just bought a p3s to find the link button broken , what tools did you use to re weld the new button on as I am worried about using a solder iron due to the heat affecting the rest of the board ?
     
  15. dronedinOregon

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Salem, Oregon
    I recently successfully repaired my p3s lost link button. I used flux paste on the pads of both the board and new switch. A quick dab with my soldering iron at 750 degrees and rosin core solder and I was back in the game :) The heat won't effect the board.
     
    rdalessio likes this.
  16. rdalessio

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mauro, you wouldn't by any chance know of a video on youtube that would show how to fix this would you? - Just discovered last night that my button is broken.
     
  17. mauro310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry but there isnt a video showing what to do. There is no information of this problem either! That's why I posted on this blog. You have to weld all 4 contacts and hope that works!! Let me know if there is something else I can do!
    P.S. (for someone who had the problem fixed) do you have to link the remote and aircraft everytime you turn off the aircraft?
    Thanks mauro
     
  18. rdalessio

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    So, I'm guessing the switch you ordered off eBay worked? Any instructional videos on how to remove the broken button and solder the new one? doesn't have to be DJI related - Just a good instructional video on how to properly solder something on to an electronic mother board. I'm PETRIFIED that I'm going to screw up my board and have to buy a new one.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. rdalessio

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mauro - All is well now with your button? If so, can I asked what replacement button you purchased and where? - There aren't any Radio Shacks by me any more, so I have to order everything off line.
     
  20. Hitech

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just want to also let you know that I ordered the switch and soldered it to the MB (what a pain in the...) and the drone works! Other than replacing the props that was likely the only other repair I needed to make. Thanks again, I am now the proud owner of a DJI Phantom 3 Standard.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - phantom std link Forum Date
Standard Used but new to me phantom3 std have ??????? Phantom 3 Help Friday at 8:33 PM
Strange behaviour from phantom 3 std RC Standard/4k Discussion Jul 8, 2017
Phantom 3 Std. battery w/ Molex cable Classifieds Jul 6, 2017
Standard phantom 3 std remote control Phantom 3 Help Jun 6, 2017
WTB - Yaw motor for Phantom 3 Std/Pr/Adv Classifieds May 16, 2017