Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. KevMo Photog

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    484
    I have the P4 Pro since last November now. So I'm reposting this thread in the P4P area to get more eyes on this issue. Never used to have transmission glitching much at all. Now in the last 2 months or so after some Go 4 updates I am having way too much transmission issues when bird is no farther out than a few hundred feet! I still have the Ipad Air 2. Mainly using 5.8 ghz band. 2.4 doesn't work as well anywhere that I have found. What's going on with this?
     
  2. Bakersfield Quad

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    293
    Not sure, but there were some changes that effect the tablet used, more powerful processing? You may have to set the download rate of the video, 4gbs or so, to settle this.
     
    KevMo Photog likes this.
  3. KevMo Photog

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    484
    I think thats where I'm at on the transmission speed. But I'll check that again for sure. Thx man!
     
  4. Bakersfield Quad

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    293
    Weird thing is, Ipads seem to be having issues now, overheating and video.
     
    KevMo Photog likes this.
  5. KevMo Photog

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    484
    Yeah I know right! My Air 2 has been flawless through 2 P4 birds and most of my P4P's life. But now I'm getting some glitching that is too much imo! Makes flying critical paths a little tougher for sure.
     
  6. Almine

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. My Huawei 8" tablet does not feedback properly if I got it set on auto. To me it seems the bigger the screen the more problem's I get. I had to set it to custom and set it to 4gbs and found the quality to be very crappy. I pulled out my cheap S30 Cat phone that's has I small screen, set it to auto and problem solved.
     
  7. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,349
    Likes Received:
    495
    I set my air 2 to not auto update. I'm still good. It is extremely unfortunate that dji cannot be trusted with updates to any part of the system but that's the way it is. The safest way to handle the dji system is to fly at a given firmware rev that proves to be working consistently well and then stay there. That includes the app. Any upgrading is a risk and you have to start all over again testing for consistency. It could be fine but it is still risking a properly working system to a firmware update. I'm still on ios 9.1 on my air 2. When it works, I stick. The nag screens to update are a small price to pay for keeping the system working. The only thing I updated lately is litchi and testing is showing all is good. I had no choice but to update so I can use it with my p4p. And that's the key only update when you need to.
     
    gingerbloke likes this.
  8. u000gbk

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    38
    I suspect it is all tied to the latest update they released for their '602' firmware ... the previous version '503' didn't have any issues like this.
     
  9. Bakersfield Quad

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    293
    They are catering to Android now that their own system is that. So, my Android 7 Gal Tab S3, is working perfectly, no heating, even over 100f temps.
     
  10. u000gbk

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    38
    anyone know when they plan to release the "fix" to the '602' firmware debacle that is the most current release?
     
  11. Endre

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Pro is having same problem. Transmitting on 5.8 at low resolution and getting latency, blackouts, and scrolling lines on iPad mini 4.
     
  12. billup

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    I had to send my mini in for warranty got it back did latest download because that's all there was. Before update no glitches now about every minute green or black lines on screen.Very unhappy with Dji and there lack of support
     
  13. Traveler

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    225
    Have any of you tried manually selecting a clear Chanel in the 5.8 band. I flew my P3P and P4P a few days ago and the P3 was spot on with video, but the P4 (in auto 5.8) was glitchy, so as a test I switched to highest clear channel, bumped it up to 10 Mbps and it was clear for the rest of the day. Might be worth a try...
     
    Ripper7620 and John Locke like this.
  14. Traveler

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    225
    BTW, my thought behind the test was; perhaps the auto setting was changing channels, but not efficiently. I didn't time the interval of the glitches, but they didn't seem random.
     
  15. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5,819
    Likes Received:
    2,567
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    That's a good idea that I'll need to try. I've been so happy with 1.3.509 firmware since May that I had literally forgotten about that option. With my P3P I always use custom ch 30, thanks to the hack. I never have to worry about interference with my P3P. Yesterday while flying my P4P the video feed was the worst I had seen, tons of aliasing, pretty garbled video. I should have tried a custom channel on 5.8, instead of relying on AUTO. Today my feed was fine, however I was using Litchi in a programmed flight. I'll try custom channel next time as a test.
     
  16. GhostShelter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    12
    Wouldn't just running Litchi override these issues?
     
  17. Traveler

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    225
    Not if the problem is FW related vs app.
     
  18. Traveler

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    225
    Great, please keep me posted of your results.
    I have been so busy that I haven't been able to retest myself.
     
  19. Brimba

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    12
    I got much better results disabling video cache on the controller, but keep in mind you dont have any video recording on controller/mobile device.
     
  20. KevMo Photog

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    484
    Hmmm, thats interesting Brimba! I don't review my footage a lot on my Ipad after flights. But def do here and there. Hate to do it and then need to view it out on location somewhere. Worth a try I guess though.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Pro has too Forum Date
P4P+ (Plus) has less benefits and functionality! Other problems too! Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Mar 5, 2017
Phantom 4 Pro did some summersaults in the air and crashed into the water, has insurance. Pls Help General Discussion Sunday at 1:30 AM
Phantom 3 Pro V2 ¿chassis juntions or cracks? Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 29, 2018
DJI GO4 APP On Ipad Pro has Freezing stills Phantom 4 Discussion Jan 26, 2018
Just bought the 4 ProPlus direct from DJI and it has bad controller Phantom 4 Pro Help Dec 27, 2017