New Project using Phantom 3

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to drones and here is what I want to do: I want to do a POC for a retail company - that a package to be connected as payload to the drone by a store employee & he/she should be able to feed in the destination address in the drone. The drone delivers the payload in the destination and returns to the store. Since its a POC, I dont care however small the payload weight is or how far the drone needs to travel (it could be half a pound and drone may need to travel less than a mile - or even lesser). Can you please guide me how to do this project with Phantom 3? Essential components could be:

1. How to key in an address (or lat/long) and have the drone run in autopilot to the destination?
2. How to drop the payload at the destination?
3. How to return to the store?

Appreciate any help

Starting with the obvious: For commercial use of a drone, you will need a FAA Part 107 licence. See here for more details.

With a flight time of 20-23 minutes, consumer level drones like the Phantom are not really suited for this kind of work. You can program a round trip flight with an app like Litchi, and you can add a device that will release a payload (like this one), but you would still have to press a button to release the payload. To do this autonomously, you will need an designed to do that and I don't know of any out there for a Phantom.

Reactions: dronenewbie2017
Starting with the obvious: For commercial use of a drone, you will need a FAA Part 107 licence. See here for more details.

With a flight time of 20-23 minutes, consumer level drones like the Phantom are not really suited for this kind of work. You can program a round trip flight with an app like Litchi, and you can add a device that will release a payload (like this one), but you would still have to press a button to release the payload. To do this autonomously, you will need an designed to do that and I don't know of any out there for a Phantom.