Low clouds perhaps ground fog

Reaction score
Here is my question: you have low clouds base about 200ft or low fog visibility about 1/4 mile (this might be 2 questions in 1) as a hobbyist I say you CANNOT fly thru the clouds and rise above them as you lose sight of the drone as you continue the climb. the same for fog, lose sight cant do it gotta come back into visual range. I mentioned this to a guy in my face book he says it only applies to part 107 not hobbyist. part 107 says You fly 500 feet below cloud base and 2000 feet horizontally. Which one of is right?

Here is my question: you have low clouds base about 200ft or low fog visibility about 1/4 mile (this might be 2 questions in 1) as a hobbyist I say you CANNOT fly thru the clouds and rise above them as you lose sight of the drone as you continue the climb. the same for fog, lose sight cant do it gotta come back into visual range. I mentioned this to a guy in my face book he says it only applies to part 107 not hobbyist. part 107 says You fly 500 feet below cloud base and 2000 feet horizontally. Which one of is right?

Your FB friend is walking a very dangerous line. Here's my take on it... my opinion and nothing more.

As a 336/hobbyist you are pretty much exempt from Part 107 Rules as long as you abide by the "Guidelines" set forth for you. If everything you do stays within the "Hobby/336" box you're golden and inside a protective bubble from Part 107 Law. But the first thing you do that does NOT fit into that box you have now pierced the 336 protective bubble and are now subject to Part 107 Law.