How likely it is for P4P to crash? Should I get DJI care or not?

Reaction score
Hi there,
I just bought my first Phantom 4 pro and I am super excited...Finally was able to take off and land safely (total newbie;))
Before I get out there and explore, I wanna know how likely it is that a P4P might crash...Should I get the DJI care or not?
I live in Los Angeles, CA...If Anyone lives in the area, I would love to go for a flight together to learn a few things.
Thank you for all your suggestions and feedback!

Hi and welcome
I'm assuming your question is absolutely serious [emoji848], so the P4P is exceptionally safe and very unlightly to crash, it's just that their pilots sometimes put them in harms way. It's really impossible for us to advise if you will crash, it's very possible for you, as I and many have done, to minimise chance of mishap and have heaps of fun in the process.

Some things to consider to assist you:- (before flying / much)
- put app into beginner mode.
- watch as many beginner / intro training videos you can on YouTube
- understand exactly what and how RTH operates and how to set RTH altitude, along with settings in app.
- start / early flights in safe open area away from people and high objects

Sorry if you are across all of this already, IMHO if you start carefully you should probably not be in any danger of crash or needing DJI care.

In summary put in the effort learn to be safe and you will be. Ask if you need help and best of luck [emoji106][emoji4].

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots

When I got mine, it wasn't the drone crashing I was worried about, it was most definitely pilot error that was the concern!

That said, my retailer offered "all perils" insurance... and I took it.

Why?

Because I knew that no matter how thorough I am with manuals, how many videos I'd seen, how much reading I did, that I would still use the "quick start" guide (dumbest thing ever to include as a temptation for a newbie!) to get it off the ground ASAP.