Gimbol on a fc40

Joined
Sep 28, 2014
Messages
179
Reaction score
15
Age
73
Location
White Lake, Mi
planning on putting one and go pro on. How much more drain on the battery? Will it work without input from the transmitter?
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
3,470
Reaction score
945
Location
Where the deer and the antelope play
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
357
Reaction score
45
Location
Tallahassee Fl.
The power drain from the battery is not much, but when you start adding weight you will lose fly time. Using the 9 inch vision props will help ,you can also use a larger battery like the Multistar 4000 .
Wayne
 
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
422
Reaction score
71
Location
Hovering at 400 feet
The power drain from the battery is not much, but when you start adding weight you will lose fly time. Using the 9 inch vision props will help ,you can also use a larger battery like the Multistar 4000 .
Wayne

Hi Wayne I'm tempted to try the Walkera gimbal but I wanted to ask first what kind of an iimpact it had on your FC40. I know they sell the plastic one also so I am most interested in that one as I do not want to have another aluminum gimbal but I am curious about your thoughts on this. The pro's and con's.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2014
Messages
179
Reaction score
15
Age
73
Location
White Lake, Mi
thanks for the input, now to figure witch one!
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
357
Reaction score
45
Location
Tallahassee Fl.
After a few good crashes while attached to the FC40 ,the Walkera is still going strong. It has a new home on a F550 . The only problem I have had with the metal version is I pinched the wires on the support arm ,causing the gimbal to have the shakes. I repaired the wires and all is good. I don't think the plastic version would take the abuse I have given it. With the stock Phantom battery and Vision props I got about 9 min. With the Multistar 4000 I averaged 12 to 13.
I like the Walkera so much I am thinking about getting the G3d gimbal .
 
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
422
Reaction score
71
Location
Hovering at 400 feet
After a few good crashes while attached to the FC40 ,the Walkera is still going strong. It has a new home on a F550 . The only problem I have had with the metal version is I pinched the wires on the support arm ,causing the gimbal to have the shakes. I repaired the wires and all is good. I don't think the plastic version would take the abuse I have given it. With the stock Phantom battery and Vision props I got about 9 min. With the Multistar 4000 I averaged 12 to 13.
I like the Walkera so much I am thinking about getting the G3d gimbal .

I will make it the next priority on the upgrade list. So far the OSD and telemetry are great:)
 
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
422
Reaction score
71
Location
Hovering at 400 feet
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
357
Reaction score
45
Location
Tallahassee Fl.
I took this video with the Walkera 2d this past weekend
 
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
422
Reaction score
71
Location
Hovering at 400 feet
I took this video with the Walkera 2d this past weekend

The video looks smooth as well. Just wondering what the advantage is of one over the other, and then I did some research to see, so now leaning more towards the 3D. Did you setup the pitch lever? Looks like we will need longer legs after watching this video --->
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
357
Reaction score
45
Location
Tallahassee Fl.
The video looks smooth as well. Just wondering what the advantage is of one over the other, and then I did some research to see, so now leaning more towards the 3D. Did you setup the pitch lever? Looks like we will need longer legs after watching this video --->
I have the new transmitter with built in lipo battery and tilt wheel. (I broke my original trying to add a tilt knob) I also did the yaw mod . With a switch and adjustable resistor. After watching this video I think I'm going to order the 3D ..thanks Beario...this hobby this keeps my UPS man happy.
 
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
422
Reaction score
71
Location
Hovering at 400 feet
I have the new transmitter with built in lipo battery and tilt wheel. (I broke my original trying to add a tilt knob) I also did the yaw mod . With a switch and adjustable resistor. After watching this video I think I'm going to order the 3D ..thanks Beario...this hobby this keeps my UPS man happy.

That is funny because UPS and Fedex stop here so much because I keep ordering stuff LOL:D. It is no problem you have helped me a lot actually as well with ideas like the OSD and other things, but I really think the 3D is the best option and will try to buy one soon. Maybe you can post pics once you have yours all setup.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2014
Messages
115
Reaction score
11
I too am researching on which gimbal to get, after I couldn't get my GLB GL-2X to work properly.

I was really leaning towards the Walkera G-3D as it was perfect for me, but many ppl over at rcgroup forums have mentioned problems with G-3D.
Many who had gotten the G-3D preferred replacing the control board with alexmos or something(not sure sry! :eek:) to get it to work ok!

Finally, I just cant see any other option than to get either Zenmuse H3-3D or 4D (price is >double the walkera, but many say that it is plug and play and minimal messing around with gimbal settings.

Believe me, I had gone crazy trying to get my GL-2X to work. Messing with settings in NAZA Assistant, Simple BGC and nothing was working! It was hell lol!
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2014
Messages
179
Reaction score
15
Age
73
Location
White Lake, Mi
I live for that kind of hell! I love to tinker! Think I will start with a cheap China one from Good luck buy....if it ever gets here!
 
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
422
Reaction score
71
Location
Hovering at 400 feet
I have the new transmitter with built in lipo battery and tilt wheel. (I broke my original trying to add a tilt knob) I also did the yaw mod . With a switch and adjustable resistor. After watching this video I think I'm going to order the 3D ..thanks Beario...this hobby this keeps my UPS man happy.

These videos are for a phantom 2, but I plan to use them for reference. There is some soldering required or you can use the extra power cables in the phantom. There is another install video in English also. The mounting plate will require you to drill a hole. Also you can ignore the 3d printed parts they are selling for the phantom 2:)

German (English subtitles) ->

English ->

Walkera G-3D adjust with DJI Assistant Software -->
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
357
Reaction score
45
Location
Tallahassee Fl.
These videos are for a phantom 2, but I plan to use them for reference. There is some soldering required or you can use the extra power cables in the phantom. There is another install video in English also. The mounting plate will require you to drill a hole. Also you can ignore the 3d printed parts they are selling for the phantom 2:)

German (English subtitles) ->

English ->

Walkera G-3D adjust with DJI Assistant Software -->
I found a few EBay sellers for the G3 ,any luck with a store type dealer?
 
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
422
Reaction score
71
Location
Hovering at 400 feet
  • Like
Reactions: Tallyrver
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
357
Reaction score
45
Location
Tallahassee Fl.
So far the lowest price I can find in the US is on Ebay. Ships from California it says in 2 to 3 days for $138.96

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Walkera-G-3...714?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1e93c5fbea

This price is better than Amazon and other sellers and they do have a 30 day return policy. If I do not find anything better going to pull the trigger here.:)
I just ordered it. Same Ebay seller. I have a three day camping trip this weekend. Hope it gets here before Friday
 
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
422
Reaction score
71
Location
Hovering at 400 feet
I just ordered it. Same Ebay seller. I have a three day camping trip this weekend. Hope it gets here before Friday

Tallyrver I do have a question in regards to the SJCAM. I have had 2 of them just die on me and so I run a 2 camera setup with a separate camera for FPV. I'm just not sure why they keep dying I have no power attached to the SJCAM from the OSD, just the ground cable and the video cable. I am wondering your experiences so far and if you can show me a picture of your setup because we have the same OSD.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
357
Reaction score
45
Location
Tallahassee Fl.
Tallyrver I do have a question in regards to the SJCAM. I have had 2 of them just die on me and so I run a 2 camera setup with a separate camera for FPV. I'm just not sure why they keep dying I have no power attached to the SJCAM from the OSD, just the ground cable and the video cable. I am wondering your experiences so far and if you can show me a picture of your setup because we have the same OSD.
i use a small video camera for the FPV ,its stuck to the right motor of the gimbal. i dont have anything connected to the SJ . i only record from it.
this is a picture of the setup when i had it on the Phantom. same now,just different bird. .i like the small cam on the gimbal because i can see what im looking at when recording.it moves when the SJ moves. i also use a neutral density filter most of the time. its for a GoPro but i wrapped a little tape around the lens to make it fit.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,022
Messages
1,444,142
Members
101,781
Latest member
NuDrone