Gimbal Needs To Be Auto Calibrated Before Every Flight (P3A)

Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
297
Reaction score
69
Age
48
Ok, I have a new problem...

For some reason when I start my aircraft, the gimbal is rolled about 30-degrees or so. Everything looks slanted horizotally.

This has happened the last four times when starting the aircraft.

I have to find some (more or less) level ground and then auto calibrate it, and the gimbal returns to normal.

But the next time I power up, the gimbal will be slanted horizontally again.

When the aircraft is NOT powered on it seems like the gimbal is balanced just fine. I can adjust it and it will stay in place to wherever I move it.

Any thoughts?
 

ianzone

LONEWOLVE
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
5,196
Reaction score
2,741
Age
49
Location
EARTH.NZ
Ok, I have a new problem...

For some reason when I start my aircraft, the gimbal is rolled about 30-degrees or so. Everything looks slanted horizotally.

This has happened the last four times when starting the aircraft.

I have to find some (more or less) level ground and then auto calibrate it, and the gimbal returns to normal.

But the next time I power up, the gimbal will be slanted horizontally again.

When the aircraft is NOT powered on it seems like the gimbal is balanced just fine. I can adjust it and it will stay in place to wherever I move it.

Any thoughts?
Gosh your drone busy today,,have you tryed playing with this roll setting or same result....ps mine on 2 or it sits crooked aswell could never fix it,p3s.
Screenshot_20190411-162743.jpg
Screenshot_20190411-162728.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
297
Reaction score
69
Age
48
Gosh your drone busy today,,have you tryed playing with this roll setting or same result....ps mine on 2 or it sits crooked aswell could never fix it,p3s.View attachment 110534View attachment 110538
Thanks for the response.

Yes, I did try to adjust the gimbal roll using that method and unfortunately it doesn't seem to work. The amount of adjustment is negligible. The gimbal roll adjustment was set at 0, and adjusting the roll didn't help really at all.
 

ianzone

LONEWOLVE
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
5,196
Reaction score
2,741
Age
49
Location
EARTH.NZ
Thanks for the response.

Yes, I did try to adjust the gimbal roll using that method and unfortunately it doesn't seem to work. The amount of adjustment is negligible. The gimbal roll adjustment was set at 0, and adjusting the roll didn't help really at all.
Um I have heard of some doing a gimble calibration upside down,give that a go,I know it sound stupid but has worked for a couple
 
  • Like
Reactions: MotorCycle-Man

ianzone

LONEWOLVE
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
5,196
Reaction score
2,741
Age
49
Location
EARTH.NZ
Thanks for the response.

Yes, I did try to adjust the gimbal roll using that method and unfortunately it doesn't seem to work. The amount of adjustment is negligible. The gimbal roll adjustment was set at 0, and adjusting the roll didn't help really at all.
Hey found this turn all on and loosen this grub screw or is it cam that's offset,.
Screenshot_20190414-155805.jpg
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
297
Reaction score
69
Age
48
Well... this sucks...

Just did an IMU calibration and that didn't fix the problem.
 

ianzone

LONEWOLVE
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
5,196
Reaction score
2,741
Age
49
Location
EARTH.NZ
Well... this sucks...

Just did an IMU calibration and that didn't fix the problem.
No good can you post a pic of the angle it sits on,,might get better idea how to resolve this annoying issue
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
8
Age
48
I’ve had the same issue with my P3P. I have to calibrate the gimbal before each flight and 99% of the time it’s ok, but sometimes I have to do it twice.

I opened up the back cover and removed the circuit board and used a pliers to adjust the roll, and it got a little better, but still a bit wonky- maybe 20 degrees. Not sure if my circuit board is bad or if there is something else going on.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
3,854
Reaction score
1,698
Age
63
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
Hey found this turn all on and loosen this grub screw or is it cam that's offset,.View attachment 110539
If you loosen that screw - you will most likely introduce Jello .... as myself and others found that possibly factory had not 'pressed' the arm fully home before tightening. The slight gap and we are talking tiny such that hard to see was enough to cause jello.
That screw has nothing to do with roll or angle of the camera ...
 
  • Like
Reactions: tunadoctor
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
297
Reaction score
69
Age
48
So the weird thing is this all happened once I had the issue with my phone and my radio transmitter not connecting. I mentioned in another thread that everything was working fine, then one day last week, I turned on my transmitter (with the USB plugged into my phone) and the radio transmitter made a long loud beep sound. I turned it off, unplugged, and restarted, and then the phone wouldn't connect anymore to the transmitter.

Anyway, I don't know if somehow that messed things up on the aircraft. Or the fact that I am using a different phone?

Is there a more thorough reset I can do to try and work through this instead of taking it apart?
 

ianzone

LONEWOLVE
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
5,196
Reaction score
2,741
Age
49
Location
EARTH.NZ
So the weird thing is this all happened once I had the issue with my phone and my radio transmitter not connecting. I mentioned in another thread that everything was working fine, then one day last week, I turned on my transmitter (with the USB plugged into my phone) and the radio transmitter made a long loud beep sound. I turned it off, unplugged, and restarted, and then the phone wouldn't connect anymore to the transmitter.

Anyway, I don't know if somehow that messed things up on the aircraft. Or the fact that I am using a different phone?

Is there a more thorough reset I can do to try and work through this instead of taking it apart?
Only camera reset in app that I'm aware of
 
  • Like
Reactions: tunadoctor

ianzone

LONEWOLVE
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
5,196
Reaction score
2,741
Age
49
Location
EARTH.NZ
If you loosen that screw - you will most likely introduce Jello .... as myself and others found that possibly factory had not 'pressed' the arm fully home before tightening. The slight gap and we are talking tiny such that hard to see was enough to cause jello.
That screw has nothing to do with roll or angle of the camera ...
Very good what screw does ,all good saying I'm wrong but without corection if was mine I twist it with plyers, how would you do it,,chap needs help here was just a idea
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
42
hi, a have a same problem, p3 4k... i need to calibrate gimball after every restart:/ if you have a solution, please share with me:) the copter ever lose the memory at every turnout?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
3,854
Reaction score
1,698
Age
63
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
Very good what screw does ,all good saying I'm wrong but without corection if was mine I twist it with plyers, how would you do it,,chap needs help here was just a idea
Fine ... I was just saying that the screw highlighted will not correct the slanted camera. It will cause Jello if slacked or altered. It has only effect on horizontal rotation of the gimbal.

I would suggest and this is only a suggestion without having the machine in hand ... that the lower part of the gimbal arm that has the 'roll' part carrying the camera may be at fault.

My P3P had a small slant to horizon for some time ... I calibrated gimbal ... played with it ... but mine was nowhere near 30 deg as the OP mentions. I just persevered and eventually it sorted out. How I did it escapes me now ...
I know there was a post somewhere a guy mentioned resetting arm alignment - but it was lower part ...
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
297
Reaction score
69
Age
48
Well... still having this problem. I am using the aircraft with a different radio transmitter and the gimbal is still slanted at start up.

I haven't crashed, but I remember I did make the bonehead move of starting the aircraft up with the camera / gimbal guard in place and got the dreaded "gimbal overload" warning in the app before I realized it. I am guessing that had something to do with this issue.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,963
Messages
1,396,295
Members
98,352
Latest member
kenannn