Drone smashed into the ground - why?

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I'm new to this and have a Phantom 4.

I used RTH and the P4 came back to me and started landing at 60M in the air. I saw a guy with a dog approaching so I cancelled the auto landing at approx 30M. I started to lower the drone manually and at approx 25M it started going down, FAST.

I pushed the stick upwards and got no response. It smashed into the ground and bounced back up, at which point I was able to control it again, bringing it to a safe landing.

However, a piece broke off and a component was hanging out of one of the legs. I've put it back in and everything works fine, but it's been making a creaking noise since when I touch it, and the piece has been trying to fall out again.

WTF happened here? I've reviewed the logs and it just cuts out at 25M to the ground and doesn't show anything after that.

I have the video footage of it hitting the ground which has me partially in shot and I can see that I wasn't even on the throttle so wasn't me that smashed it into the ground. Bit strange that the DJI Go app has no info after it was at 25M in the air, isn't it? Does that suggest a Phantom problem to you?

Please upload your TXT flight log here and post a link back here.

Hi everyone

I'm new to this and have a Phantom 4.

I used RTH and the P4 came back to me and started landing at 60M in the air. I saw a guy with a dog approaching so I cancelled the auto landing at approx 30M. I started to lower the drone manually and at approx 25M it started going down, FAST.

I pushed the stick upwards and got no response. It smashed into the ground and bounced back up, at which point I was able to control it again, bringing it to a safe landing.

However, a piece broke off and a component was hanging out of one of the legs. I've put it back in and everything works fine, but it's been making a creaking noise since when I touch it, and the piece has been trying to fall out again.