Compass Calibration

Reaction score
I am a new P3 Standard pilot (two months) and find this forum to be extremely helpful in terms of providing help and information. In following several recent threads, I have repeatedly viewed the suggestion "not to calibrate your compass every flight". I am confused: If I change launch locations how will the P3 RTH from my current launch site and not a previous launch location? Thanks to all of you who help newbies more than you know.

You're confusing the compass with GPS. A compass indicates direction, GPS indicates position. To reach a position, you need an accurate compass. Unless you move between areas with great magnetic differences, your compass should generally remain accurate without re-calibrating.

Reactions: N017RW and macoman
Reactions: macoman
I am a new P3 Standard pilot (two months) and find this forum to be extremely helpful in terms of providing help and information. In following several recent threads, I have repeatedly viewed the suggestion "not to calibrate your compass every flight". I am confused: If I change launch locations how will the P3 RTH from my current launch site and not a previous launch location? Thanks to all of you who help newbies more than you know.
GPS and compass are two separate systems.
Your Phantom uses GPS to record it's home point for RTH and it does that all by itself without you doing anything.

Thank you all for your helpful links and information. Two follow-up questions:
1) Is the following statement accurate: "The aircraft GPS only finds locations such as my RTH location at launch and the compass helps the aircraft navigate to that GPS location"?