Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

After only my 3rd flight and trying to fly today I’m getting ESC error!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Dallas’s drone, May 23, 2018.

  1. Dallas’s drone

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Super sad today when I couldn’t get this ESC error to clear when restarting my drone! Not sure what it is
     
  2. Joker2415

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Dallas,GA
    I'm no expert on this stuff. I had a Pro that did the same thing. I read in the threads to recalibrate the IMU and the compass. It worked on that one for me. No idea why, but it did!!:) I guess there are other reasons this could happen. This is one of the things that I now know to try first.

    I have an Advanced that had this issue too, but I have no clue what actually fixed the ESC error. If it was just updated? then the ECS error showed up? It may need a super secret, I mean top secret!!! Update patch!!! haha:) But wait for the experts to chime in before you go that route. I may have mixed one up by doing that by just guessing.

    Also, I'm not positive on this..But I think I just read that if you try to take off around any metal, this will or could happen. As an example, on a driveway that has rebar or wire mesh inside it for strength.

    This may also be a strange question....But....Did you happen to take off prop guards right before this happened? Just asking!!!!:) (JKG)

    That's all I know....Hopefully, an expert will be by to help you out a little more than I can.
     
    #2 Joker2415, May 23, 2018
    Last edited: May 23, 2018
  3. RunningWithScissors

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    666
    Location:
    New York
    Just to be clear, are you getting an ESC error, a compass error, or both?
     
  4. Mr. Grinch

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    Definitely need more info and the flight logs. There are posts on how to download the logs from the phantom.
     
    RunningWithScissors likes this.
  5. whiteghost

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Having the same problem every now and again?
    Seems to happen when I change battery? If I move say 50 yards and re-calibrate all is well !!??

    Not to much trouble, but I have seen people with this and had to go back to earlier firmware?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - 3rd flight trying Forum Date
3rd Flight on P4P V2 and almost crash with RTH Phantom 4 Pro Help Jun 29, 2018
3rd or 4th flight with the P3S, I shot a nice Sunset. Photos and Video Jan 19, 2017
P3A controller to pc for 3rd party flight sim? Pro/Adv Discussion Dec 28, 2016
Flight log question about 3rd party apps(Litchi, Autopilot, etc) Pro/Adv Discussion Jun 27, 2016
My 3rd Flight...downtown Memphis Photos and Video Jun 5, 2016