Professional Why are my videos not caching on my iPad anymore?

Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
27
Reaction score
5
Age
56
My iPad used to always record a 720p version of all my flight videos automatically when ever I was in record mode. I could go into "editor" in the Go App and there was a low quality copy of every video I ever recorded. I never used this of course for my finished video but it was nice to have to review my video while in flight or if the drone ever crashed I could review the last video sent to the iPad and see where it may have landed.
For some odd reason, I noticed today that it hasn't saved a video since Sept.
the old videos are all still there back to January, but none after Sept. there's lots of room left on the iPad and I want to know if this is happening to others.

P3P
iPad Air 2 (64 gig)
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
993
Reaction score
275
Age
61
Location
Mountain City, TN
No Apple experience here, but on Android, there is a setting in the Go app to "Cache Video". Hunt for that setting and make sure it is on.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
 

Buk

Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
709
Reaction score
49
Age
66
Location
Iowa, United States
Your iPad is full. Walk through all the settings, it tells you it's full and you need to clear it out. No apparent warning that I've seen. It just stops recording.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
27
Reaction score
5
Age
56
It st
Your iPad is full. Walk through all the settings, it tells you it's full and you need to clear it out. No apparent warning that I've seen. It just stops recording.
It still has 29 Gigs free out of 64, but I guess I'll have to try deleting the old ones to see if that helps. I'm glad to hear it's only me. That means I should be able to fix it.
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,400
Reaction score
992
Age
56
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Yeah,
Take a look of usage of all your apps, see what dji go is using up. (if you haven't)
Restart your iPad.
Would this failure be related to timing of some crApple update or Dji update?

I got one more thought, turn caching off, reboot, turn caching on, reboot, then try it.

If still doesn't work you need some bigger boots! ;)

Rod
 
  • Like
Reactions: JohnnyB
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
27
Reaction score
5
Age
56
It's fixed!!! Thanks to all! You were kind of all correct. I shut off "cache videos", then deleted all the old ones and exited the app. I then re-opened it and turned cache videos back on and it works like a charm! I guess ten months of videos is a bit much to cache even though it still had more storage available. It's fixed!
Thanks to everyone for your help!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cadbob
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
993
Reaction score
275
Age
61
Location
Mountain City, TN
Isn't there also a setting (in addition to turning cache video on/off) to limit the size of the cache?
Or am I just imagining that?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: Pharm
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
27
Reaction score
5
Age
56
Isn't there also a setting (in addition to turning cache video on/off) to limit the size of the cache?
Or am I just imagining that?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Yes, there is. Though it might just be to limit the size of each individual file. I changed that first and it didn't seem to help. Though Hillary Clintoning all my old files worked like a charm.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2016
Messages
1,746
Reaction score
793
Age
60
There's a setting to automatically empty the cache once it reaches a preset level/amount.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Andrewandron
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
27
Reaction score
5
Age
56
There's a setting to automatically empty the cache once it reaches a preset level/amount.
Might be a good idea to set that. That way it would delete old videos instead of NOT recording new ones.
Thanks for the help everyone!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Pharm

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
133,991
Messages
1,387,090
Members
97,729
Latest member
Splatterdevil