Repair update

Reaction score
A couple of weeks ago I posted about a really hard landing I had that snapped my Yaw arm where it attaches to the motor in the circuit board; it's probably the weakest part of the arm as the metal is quite thin there. I also noticed that the plastic legs or landing assembly for the drone was bent and a bit crooked. I ordered a set of legs and swapped them out to avoid having one collapse later on when landing.

Before removing the gimbal assembly from the drone I studied some video tutorials on YouTube and then began disassembly and discovered that that also the Roll arm was bent a bit and the motor seemed to have excessive play so I decided to replace both the Yaw and Roll arms. I didn't see any breaks in the ribbon cable but because the camera was hanging from it I felt it could have been damaged and ordered the following parts:

Yaw arm
Roll arm with motor
Ribbon cable

I carefully reassembled everything and installed the assembly and attached the last 2 connections to the drone. I powered up and the gimbal went through the usual start up motion and beeped as normal but I never was able to get any kind of camera image on my phone attached to the control unit. I couldn't see anything, take a picture or video or tilt the camera up or down.

Reading up on possible problems some forum posts suggested that you only use an actual DJI brand cable and not an after market. Not sure if mine was an after market or if perhaps I somehow crimped the ribbon as I had installed it, the angles are kind of tight as I fit it into place. So I ordered a new OEM DJI cable. It came today and I carefully installed it. The advantage of doing it again is you now know all the tricks for getting it in place and stuck down where the adhesive is!