Phantom 3 pro what can i do to fix this before i commit harrykarri?

Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
49
Reaction score
7
Age
56
So i'm struggling to fix the camera feed on my P3P... have posted a few times but i'm real close to giving up now.
I've tried to buy a good used gimbal main board, that turned out to be faulty and i got a refund..

The fault in a nutshell is this...
I get no camera feed, cant take pics or video, doesn't see SD card (reads as 0mb) and camera options in the app are grayed out.

I've spent hours on this now and i'm not really any further forward, do i try and buy another gimbal main board? could it be the camera itself?
Is it worth sending to Dji ? or do i just bin a perfectly good flying drone and walk away from Dji with tears in my eyes

can anyone on here confirm a new gimbal board will fix this, and if so any ideas on where i could source.
 

captainmilehigh

Premium Pilot
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
1,727
Reaction score
1,360
Location
Northeast Florida
If you are in the US, it may be wise to send it to DDS in Hillside NJ. (DJI Drone Service) Free shipping each way. They will troubleshoot your issues and give you a repair estimate that you can accept or decline. If you decline they will send the bird back to you......free shipping return too.

Since you have exhausted your options and efforts, if it were me I'd start a ticket with DDS.

Just my .02 Hope you get back in the air soon, with all components operational.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
49
Reaction score
7
Age
56
that would be really cool, but unfortunately I’m in Spain and no such service here
 

captainmilehigh

Premium Pilot
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
1,727
Reaction score
1,360
Location
Northeast Florida
Yeah, that is unfortunate. The DDS guys are on this forum quite a bit. Maybe you could PM them for information on your issues? They were in the thread "Shell Replacement" earlier. Look for D D S (with spaces between the letters). That's them.

Good luck .
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,917
Reaction score
1,253
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
24
Reaction score
14
So i'm struggling to fix the camera feed on my P3P... have posted a few times but i'm real close to giving up now.
I've tried to buy a good used gimbal main board, that turned out to be faulty and i got a refund..

The fault in a nutshell is this...
I get no camera feed, cant take pics or video, doesn't see SD card (reads as 0mb) and camera options in the app are grayed out.

I've spent hours on this now and i'm not really any further forward, do i try and buy another gimbal main board? could it be the camera itself?
Is it worth sending to Dji ? or do i just bin a perfectly good flying drone and walk away from Dji with tears in my eyes

can anyone on here confirm a new gimbal board will fix this, and if so any ideas on where i could source.
I had the same problem with my Phantom 3 Professional. I took the memory chip out, put it in my computer and formatted it. When I put it back in the bird my problem cleared up. I had formatted the chip while in the bird many times but that did not fix the problem. Don't do a "QUICK FORMAT" do a "FULL FORMAT" of the chip.
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,917
Reaction score
1,253
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
I bet he has tried that. ;)
But try them all NTFS, FAT32, and exFAT.

I would think in the norm of a working system, he would get a picture with out a SD card.

Since of multiple threads.
@Bazzo, are you getting Telemetry?

Rod
 
  • Like
Reactions: KachemakDiver

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,917
Reaction score
1,253
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
  • Like
Reactions: KachemakDiver

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,470
Reaction score
3,311
Location
Western US

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,917
Reaction score
1,253
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
@Bazzo,
I think we found some good information. We don't know if it helped or your still frustrated. Unless you tell us.
I have been there!!

Rod
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
986
Reaction score
360
Location
PL
I have know idea if this helps, but maybe @quaddamage will post if he has any ideas. :)
The steps to take are always the same. This is why I made the diagnosis diagram for "no FPV".

@Bazzo seem to have an issue with Ambarella chip. Either:
- that chip can't boot
- it can boot, but then restarts constantly
- it can boot and works ok, but cannot communicate with OFDM board

Steps to take:
- Try starting it w/o sd-card - sometimes the card is incompatible or its slot gets damaged
- Take note of the diode blinking pattern on the gimbal; if the diode ends with a solid color, it probably boots; it it blinks in a repeating pattern, then Ambarella crashes and re-starts continuosly
- Make sure the cable which connects gimbal to OFDM is firmly inserted and contacts are fine

For further steps - check the diagram I made.
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,917
Reaction score
1,253
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
@Bazzo, did you give up?
Sorry if I was the cause.

Rod
 

captainmilehigh

Premium Pilot
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
1,727
Reaction score
1,360
Location
Northeast Florida
It would be nice to know if Bazzo has had a successful outcome. Or not. Hope no harrikarri was committed as the solution.
There was lots of good people involved in this issue
Yes, these things can be frustrating at times. Maybe Bazzo is trying to regroup his thoughts, or exploring other options.

Hopefully he will update us when he's solved his issues.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RodPad

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
137,141
Messages
1,417,649
Members
99,613
Latest member
LordFlasheart