P3S block diagram.

Reaction score
Hope this helps someone, it's a block diagram and notes I put together while working out how the P3s system works.

block diagram3.png

Last edited:
Thanks to Mark for pointing out the obvious typo I missed. lol.
I also need to confirm if the phone commands to the aircraft go via wifi or 5.8Ghz.
Can anyone confirm this for certain?
It makes sense that Litchi missions for example would be uploaded to the aircraft over wifi.

Last edited:
I also need to confirm if the phone commands to the aircraft go via wifi or 5.8Ghz.
Can anyone confirm this for certain?
I'm not an expert by any means, but the info on GitHub shows the below. Hopefully that helps you.

GL358 2G4 WiFi board
The board contains 2.4GHz Radio Frequency components for communications between the remote controller and a mobile device. It is separated from the main board to reduce interference and allow separate shielding for the high frequency components.

GL358 5G8 RF board
The board contains 5.8GHz Radio Frequency components for communications between the drone and the remote controller. It is separated from the main board to reduce interference and allow separate shielding for the high frequency components.

Ok.... that was a useful test...
I connected a dummy load in place of my 5.8Ghz antenna, fired up the controller, a/c and Litchi.
Took the a/c through to the back bedroom where it lost 5.8Ghz link and started flashing it's lights quickly.
went back to the controller, leaving the a/c in the bedroom.
5.8GHz signal bars were right down to none.
wifi bars were full.
Link LED on controller stayed green. (so it's a wifi link light not a 5.8Ghz link light)
Litchi did not report a lost link. (it only reports a lost wifi link)
switching to ATTI/F modes wasn't reflected on the screen (proving the 5.8Ghz link was lost)
Gimbal tilt was not controlable using wheel OR screen slider. (so that's done over 5.8 even when using screen slider)