Phantom 1 Drone 1Yellow 3Red Error HELP

Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
5
Likes
1
Age
18
#1
I have a Phantom 1 Drone that I am trying to repair for a school project. When I received the nonfunctioning drone, I was told that it was sold because the previous owner removed the propeller guards, but put the same screws back in(which were longer than the originals because of the guard) and screwed right into the motors. I have since replaced all four motors, and in doing so dealt with a plethora of error codes. The one the I'm stuck on is a flashing yellow and ten three red flashes. Although I guess it could be three red flashes and then one yellow. According to the Led Descriptions (see attached), it means GPA signal <5 Atti. What does this mean? How do I fix it?

I called the tech support line and they told me to recalibrated the compass. I did this, and nothing changed. I called back and they said to connected it to the NAZAM DJI Assistant on a computer and check the IMU Status and Reset the BTU info. I did this too and nothing changed. I also advanced calibrated it. I called the support line again, and they said there was nothing they could do. Please help me. I've never dealt with drones until now, and I just wanna pass this class.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
539
Likes
218
Location
Southwest Florida
Website
www.FloridaDroneSupply.com
#2
DJI seems to be leading you down the correct path as per the flashing codes. This one may need to go in for repair.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
977
Likes
500
Age
52
Location
Canada
#4
The led flash code shows you have a weak GPS signal which could be due to being indoors?? Have you tried powering up outside? Will the motors start up?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
539
Likes
218
Location
Southwest Florida
Website
www.FloridaDroneSupply.com
#5
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
977
Likes
500
Age
52
Location
Canada
#8
I tried powering it up outside, and it did nothing. The motors do start.
I'm not sure what you mean when you say it did nothing. If it powers up and the motors start then thats a good sign. That means the remote and the drone are communicating properly and it's likely flyable. Although with the GPS issue indicated by the leds I don't know how stable it would fly so if you are gonna test fly it be very careful in an open area and stay close. I know absolutely nothing about the Phantom 1 (I have a Phantom 3 Pro) so I can't help diagnose what the problem could be.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
5
Likes
1
Age
18
#9
I'm not sure what you mean when you say it did nothing. If it powers up and the motors start then thats a good sign. That means the remote and the drone are communicating properly and it's likely flyable. Although with the GPS issue indicated by the leds I don't know how stable it would fly so if you are gonna test fly it be very careful in an open area and stay close. I know absolutely nothing about the Phantom 1 (I have a Phantom 3 Pro) so I can't help diagnose what the problem could be.
Sorry, to clarify, I had the same error code come up as when I did it inside. I'll try to fly it and see how it goes. Thanks for your help!
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
132,920
Messages
1,377,144
Members
97,052
Latest member
TreeTopper