Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3S - 2 Second Delay in Camera Response

Discussion in 'Standard' started by sunbird, Aug 20, 2018.

  1. sunbird

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hey guys having a weird problem hoping something can point me in the right direction. After a recent firmware update to 1.9.2 i think it was, everything works perfectly and flies perfectly..but....i am getting a 2 second delay in response time from when i move the wheel to the time the cam moves.

    Any thoughts on what i should look at .
    Thanks
     
  2. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    I suffered delay with a P3A and after much research discovered that a simple unplugging and replugging of the multi plugs attaching the gimbal to the phantom cured it. Two minute job from start to finish. My delay was more like 7 seconds.
     
  3. sunbird

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    13
    Really so just unplugging and replugging? I will try that ASAP thank you i will let you know.
     
    happydays likes this.
  4. sunbird

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    13
    I tried a differrent controller and it flies perfectly. BUT the video on my phone is about 2 sec delay. Although the cam physically moves in real time response from my controller, the video is delayed on my phone by 2sec.

    Any thoughts?
     
  5. LeftHandFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Illinois
    Well what phone do you have?
     
  6. sunbird

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    13
    Android and dji app.
     
  7. sunbird

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    13
    New sd card
     
  8. PeterX

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Thuringia Germany
    Did you use the airplane mode and start the WIFI manually yet? Did you disable local video cache?
     
  9. sunbird

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    13
    Peter i never looked at those settings. I see "Cache Locally When Recording" which is ON is that what you mean?

    Airplane mode you mean in the app or on my phone please clarify?

    The WiFi i start on my phone when i fire up the bird...it auto finds the Phantom and i proceed forward from there.

    Any input appreciated i will try it.
     
  10. PeterX

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Thuringia Germany
    The airplane mode you can set it in the phones settings menu and the cache setting in the Go app. That saves processing power of the live feed from the copter via RC to the phone. Disable the cache.
     
  11. sunbird

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    13
    Sorry for delay but Disabling the Local Video Cache fixed my delay. Had nothing to do with airplane mode in my case.
     
  12. PeterX

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Thuringia Germany
    Now the processor in your phone/tab has more power for a real time feed.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - P3S Second Delay Forum Date
Second Hand P3S.. What Should I Know General Discussion Sep 15, 2018
Can I Re'register a second hand P3s Standard Jul 4, 2018
setting up second hand p3s Standard Jun 11, 2018
Second new P3S Standard Feb 16, 2017
Best place to purchase second battery for my P3S in the U.K. Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 3, 2017