P3P Went into Atti and out of control.

Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
963
Reaction score
456
Age
82
Just some observations:
Why an auto takeoff? Had you done a manual takeoff you could have immediately landed on seeing the Compass Error but as it was the "Auto" continued to control the AC, or not in your case.
You had a Compass Error from take-off. Didn't you see it on your monitor?

You have an issue with Cell 1 in that battery pack, it kept going out of tolerance with the others all the time.

Would be handy to see the .DAT file from the drone if you know how to access it?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
118
Reaction score
35
Age
73
As I guessed, you had a Yaw Error situation, which will have been caused by launching from a magnetically distorted area.
Atti mode was just a symptom of the problem and not the cause.
You were fortunate yours was only at low speed and that you were able to recover the drone.
Many don't end so well.
What was the launch surface?
Was the Phantom facing toward the south at the launch?

Hi I am a newbe, you asked which way the phantom was facing at launch, is there a compass point that we should always take off from??

Thanks Len
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,683
Reaction score
8,682
Hi I am a newbe, you asked which way the phantom was facing at launch, is there a compass point that we should always take off from??
You can launch facing in any direction at all.
His flight data shows the drone facing south but the problem he had was that he launched from a spot where steel disrupted the local magnetic environment and cause the mag yaw value in the IMU to initialise incorrectly.
When that happens the drone icon in the app will be indicated pointing a different direction from the way the actual drone is and I was just checking to confirm.
 
  • Like
Reactions: umanbean and Lenj
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
118
Reaction score
35
Age
73
You can launch facing in any direction at all.
His flight data shows the drone facing south but the problem he had was that he launched from a spot where steel disrupted the local magnetic environment and cause the mag yaw value in the IMU to initialise incorrectly.
When that happens the drone icon in the app will be indicated pointing a different direction from the way the actual drone is and I was just checking to confirm.
Hi,

Thanks for the quick informative update, its much appreciated..

Whilst I am here can I please ask another question.. Worried about this one...What would happen if say I was all set up and good to fly, but once airborne and say after 5 or so minutes my iPhone just died screen blank, would the remote still work and would the AC return home on its own???

Thx Len
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
816
Age
54
Location
Canada
Your remote will function just fine if your device quits. And yes the RTH button will function normally assuming the home point was properly recorded during takeoff.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lenj and umanbean
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
118
Reaction score
35
Age
73
Your remote will function just fine if your device quits. And yes the RTH button will function normally assuming the home point was properly recorded during takeoff.
Thank you weight of my mind

Len
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
963
Reaction score
456
Age
82
Whilst I am here can I please ask another question.. Worried about this one...What would happen if say I was all set up and good to fly, but once airborne and say after 5 or so minutes my iPhone just died screen blank, would the remote still work and would the AC return home on its own???

Thx Len
The RC flies the AC, not your iPhone. Yes you can set some of the flight parameters and see what the drone sees on the display but it doesn't fly it.
Try turning on the AC and RC without the iPhone connected, and when the rear lights on the drone go green you can fly it, visually. The RTH button will work just fine but you'd need to press it as it's only automatic (if set up) when the battery reaches a certain charge or the drone loses the signal from the RC, out of range.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lenj

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,798
Reaction score
3,855
Location
Western US
Worried about this one...What would happen if say I was all set up and good to fly, but once airborne and say after 5 or so minutes my iPhone just died screen blank, would the remote still work and would the AC return home on its own???
@Lenj - reminder to read the tips in the link I sent you mid April. It covers this question and also the one you asked earlier. Cheers!
 
  • Haha
  • Like
Reactions: JoBe and Lenj
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
118
Reaction score
35
Age
73
The RC flies the AC, not your iPhone. Yes you can set some of the flight parameters and see what the drone sees on the display but it doesn't fly it.
Try turning on the AC and RC without the iPhone connected, and when the rear lights on the drone go green you can fly it, visually. The RTH button will work just fine but you'd need to press it as it's only automatic (if set up) when the battery reaches a certain charge or the drone loses the signal from the RC, out of range.

Thank you. Much appreciated..

Len Stay safe..
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,276
Messages
1,446,099
Members
102,044
Latest member
FlyingW2