P3 Camera Shimmy. Just bought this thing!

Reaction score
Hey, I just bought a P3 Advanced after the Karma was recalled... So far the flight and control has been great, but there appears to be a small shimmy in the video that is shown and recorded. I'm assuming it's the wind (maybe 10 mph, but not bad) or something else. It's a little bothersome to have this one little thing that isn't quite there. Even when not moving and just letting the drone fly in place, there's a little shimmy.. Any thoughts? Like I said, I'm new to this and am just hoping there's a little tweek I can do to fix this. Thanks!!

Does it shimmy left and right or up and down? Take a video and post it up here. It could be as simple as tightening the grub screw that holds the yaw arm to the gimbal board. It could also be a bad prop. Change them all out and see if you still get the shimmy.

The one in this vid is making noise, but even if yours is not making noise, this is a good place to start:

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Does it shimmy left and right or up and down? Take a video and post it up here. It could be as simple as tightening the grub screw that holds the yaw arm to the gimbal board. It could also be a bad prop. Change them all out and see if you still get the shimmy.

The one in this vid is making noise, but even if yours is not making noise, this is a good place to start:

Here's a video I took about 20 minutes ago... Let me know what you think! Thanks!

First thing is do is see if you removed the white foam rubber from behind the camera and shoot some video. If that doesnt help,
Then do a gimbal autocalibration because your horizon was off level. That probably wont cure the problem but it cant hurt.
Then change out your props to brand new ones and shoot some video.
If that doesnt work, it might be a gimbal problem and you might have to send it back to DJI for a warranty repair.