mp4 codac

Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
45
Reaction score
30
My Windows media player installed on my desktop does not recognize the MP4 file extension. I tried finding the CODEC online but all I found were files full of spyware and virus's? Any ideas of a clean easy to get source?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2014
Messages
471
Reaction score
123
My Windows media player installed on my desktop does not recognize the MP4 file extension. I tried finding the CODEC online but all I found were files full of spyware and virus's? Any ideas of a clean easy to get source?
I went through your same problem then found this free program. It works flawlessly. Virus free and updates as needed.

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/index.html
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2014
Messages
2,589
Reaction score
1,233
Location
Dublin Ireland
Vlc will play any file, I've been using it for years and I've never found a video format it couldn't play.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2014
Messages
2,589
Reaction score
1,233
Location
Dublin Ireland
Sounds like there could be a problem with your pc? Won't play mp4 files or let you install Vlc?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 27, 2014
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
675
Location
Westford, MA
First, let me get this out of the way, NEVER install a "Codec Pack" on a PC that does video editing. Codec Packs are generally designed for gamers for best playback and may inadvertently replace the otherwise excellent encoding codecs your editing program uses.

There is no MP4 codec. MP4 is simply the container and it can hold any audio or video media created by a variety of codecs. To determine what codec created the video in your MP4 file, download and run the free program MediaInfo. I would not be surprised to find that you are missing the Quicktime codec on your PC

VLC Media Player is the best player of all. It's free and will play just about anything you throw at it. VLC does not depend on installed codecs because it has its own decoder software built in.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2014
Messages
5,115
Reaction score
566
Location
Commerce Twp,MI
Free codecs which will decode MP4 files: Streamclip, Quick Time 7.7.6 and VLC.
 

ianwood

Taco Wrangler
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
5,109
Reaction score
2,039
Location
Lost Angeles
MP4 is basically an H.264 wrapper which is pretty universal. Something must have happened with your PC to lose that capability. VLC. It's everything Windows Media Player isn't and a whole lot more.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2014
Messages
1,472
Reaction score
136
Location
Leeds, United Kingdom
MJF739B just in case you didn't get the drift of where this thread is going. It is three letters and you wont regret it :D
V L C
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2015
Messages
49
Reaction score
15
Age
61
Location
Redondo Beach
I have an interesting result with VLC. I have a card with two flights worth of recordings. It's the original SanDisk 4GB card that came with the bird.
One file - about 15 minutes long, plays perfectly in all my players....the second, half as long, doesn't. I get error messages from every player, including VLC.
What do you think is going on with that?
 

ianwood

Taco Wrangler
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
5,109
Reaction score
2,039
Location
Lost Angeles
Could be the second one wasn't closed properly. Put the card back in the cam and turn it on. It should repair it.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2015
Messages
49
Reaction score
15
Age
61
Location
Redondo Beach
Could be the second one wasn't closed properly. Put the card back in the cam and turn it on. It should repair it.
@ianwood , THANKS!
You hit the nail on the head. Bonus points if you can tell me how I screwed that up!?
The only difference between the two was a new battery for the second flight, but it flew perfectly, no problems at all.:confused:
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
45
Reaction score
30
When I click on the install file absolutely nothing happens. VLC installed on my other desktop computer perfectly.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
45
Reaction score
30
That's the same one I downloaded earlier. It's not a big deal. This computer plays the video's in WMP anyway. My initial post pertained to the upstairs PC. That one runs VLC flawlessly. Thanks for the help.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mal_PV2_Ireland
Joined
Apr 8, 2015
Messages
49
Reaction score
15
Age
61
Location
Redondo Beach
You didn't press stop recording before you turned the battery off
You're probably right on that one...the sun was blinding me that morning and the phone was very hard to see, even with a shade over it. My wife had to come over and confirm the satellites for me - I couldn't quite make it out with the blue on black.
I "thought" I'd hit the camera button, but I guess not...Thanks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mal_PV2_Ireland

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,495
Messages
1,391,323
Members
98,044
Latest member
gknaps