Professional Messed up my camera settings on P3 Pro

Joined
Apr 18, 2014
Messages
60
Reaction score
1
I have been trying to research the manual settings for my P3 professional. Just took it out for a flight with some video and photos and was adjusting the wheel for camera settings on the right-hand side. What i ended up with is over and under exposed shots. If I have the camera on auto now is there a way to reset back to original settings? Also curious if there are any experts out there that feel like making adjustments in flight is necessary rather than just adjust in post? Thanks in advance for any assistance!!
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
3,858
Reaction score
1,149
Location
Long Island, NY
I have been trying to research the manual settings for my P3 professional. Just took it out for a flight with some video and photos and was adjusting the wheel for camera settings on the right-hand side. What i ended up with is over and under exposed shots. If I have the camera on auto now is there a way to reset back to original settings? Also curious if there are any experts out there that feel like making adjustments in flight is necessary rather than just adjust in post? Thanks in advance for any assistance!!
Auto is the original settings... but if you still think you need to reset the camera, there is a "reset camera" option in the settings menu.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
303
Reaction score
38
Location
Pennsylvania, USA
Even in Auto mode, the wheel can increase or decrease exposure. Check the EV setting (right under the System Status display) and turn the wheel to make it 0 to get no exposure compensation.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2014
Messages
60
Reaction score
1
Thanks for your responses, I found the reset button 5 min after posting, should have found on my own. As far as the EV setting, I need to do more research but would be interested on your perspective if you use the "over exposure warning" which creates the zebra stripes. If you use this function are you adjusting the camera on the fly to change exposure or pushing wheel to adjust shutter speed? I presume the auto function should limit the need to make adjustments for those of us who don't have the knowledge, yet, regarding manual adjustments for the camera settings. I know there are tutorials out there, just need to find the time. As always, thanks for taking the time to respond, much appreciated!

Regards,
Brad
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
303
Reaction score
38
Location
Pennsylvania, USA
I do use the over exposure warning. The histogram is also a useful tool. Nothing ruins an otherwise nice scenery picture than overexposed clouds in the sky. Both the over exposure warning and the histogram help prevent that.
 
Joined
May 18, 2015
Messages
269
Reaction score
58
Age
76
I do use the over exposure warning. The histogram is also a useful tool. Nothing ruins an otherwise nice scenery picture than overexposed clouds in the sky. Both the over exposure warning and the histogram help prevent that.

I get the histogram, and I agree - it's a very good tool. However, I think only the iOS (Apple) users can set the zebra stripes for overexposure. Those of us with Android devices still can't utilize that option.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,760
Messages
1,441,646
Members
101,496
Latest member
DannyVax