LIMP GIMBAL

Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Age
118
Looking for some advice, my gimble suddenly stopped working.

The app shows a roll error, people say its the ribbon but i cant see any damage and camera works fine.

The issue is the gimble no longer does its diagnostic dance on power on or does it respond to the controller.

Ive tried the usual imu calibration, gimble calibration sd card change etc with no luck and am lost for a fix!


A friend of mine has a complete phantom advanced gimble and camera and since there are no answers on the internet can i swap my standard gimble and camera out for the one from my friemds phamtom advanced?
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,598
Reaction score
1,085
Age
56
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Welcome to the Forum!
Wow, 118 ;)

The first member I can think of at the moment to help you out is:
@quaddamage

Wait to see if he comes by.

Rod
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: JonTheMagnificent

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,598
Reaction score
1,085
Age
56
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Quaddamage hasn't been signed on for a couple of days.

Maybe @Oso, can help a little quicker.

What are the status lights doing on the camera?

Rod
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
911
Reaction score
300
Location
PL
The app shows a roll error, people say its the ribbon but i cant see any damage and camera works fine.

The issue is the gimble no longer does its diagnostic dance on power on or does it respond to the controller.
This usually does mean the Flat Flex Cable is damaged. Asking people not to call it ribbon cable seem to be hopeless cause.

A friend of mine has a complete phantom advanced gimble and camera and since there are no answers on the internet can i swap my standard gimble and camera out for the one from my friemds phamtom advanced?
P3S and P3C have different gimbals. You'd have to be very creative with soldering to connect one to the other.

Gimbal issues seem to divide into two categories:
1. Gimbal gives up and stays limp
2. Gimbal drives motors, but moves instead of stabilizing, or keeps itself in boundary position

I draw this conclusion from limited set of cases, so can't be sure. But I think:
1. If gimbal does not receive data from its IMU (located near the sensor), it doesn't arm any of the motor drivers and gimbal stays limp; this can be caused by FFC, or the sensor board with IMU, or connector on gimbal top board
2. If gimbal receives data from its IMU, then it tries to drive motors; issues with driving are either caused by FFC or any of the 3 motor drivers

I'd first check if gimbal controller gets power (just check whether all pads marked with voltage have that voltage on them).
Then buy a new FFC.
If that won't help, there's probably damage around gimbal IMU.
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,598
Reaction score
1,085
Age
56
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
thumb-up-terminator pablo M R.jpg

Rod
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Age
118
Quaddamage hasn't been signed on for a couple of days.

Maybe @Oso, can help a little quicker.

What are the status lights doing on the camera?

Rod

Hi Rod the 2 lights on the gimble board i can see flash a few seconds when i power on the both go solid green

The drone its self makes a constant 3 beeps.

Reading your descriptions below the gimble stays completely limp, it doesnt even make the effort to the diagnostic movements when you power on the drone.

I really appreciate all your help
 
  • Like
Reactions: RodPad

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,792
Messages
1,404,841
Members
98,864
Latest member
Benjo22