lightbridge frequencies

Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Messages
63
Reaction score
2
Age
64
Location
Airth,Scotland
Is it true that DJI have reduced the available frequencies from 32 to 8 in the latest update and that this is why the video range is reduced?
 

Jacob

Administrator
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
735
Reaction score
295
As far as I can tell, it has always been 8. I can see that posts made on the day it was released talked about the 8 channels.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
1,104
Reaction score
143
Age
44
Location
Lee. UK
Is it true that DJI have reduced the available frequencies from 32 to 8 in the latest update and that this is why the video range is reduced?

Have you seen a reduced range since you updated to 1.1.8 on a same flight plan that you made before on 1.1.6
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
1,881
Reaction score
169
Location
Upstate NY
WOW if the p3 has reduced range how much range did the regular light typically bridge get? Cause I'm get sicko range out of the p3 and WAY!!!! farther then the stated range of 2km even in a small city in getting more then double and almost triple the stated range.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
853
Reaction score
469
Location
Big Bear, CA
This is how the rumors on facebook start. They didn't reduce range. They just locked it to the higher channels to help performance. 13-20 are the cleaner channels.

This has nothing to do with the output.
 
  • Like
Reactions: downshift
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
51
This is how the rumors on facebook start. They didn't reduce range. They just locked it to the higher channels to help performance. 13-20 are the cleaner channels.

This has nothing to do with the output.
I don't have much experience with this so I did some quick looking. From what I see, 2.4GHz contains channels 1 to 11/14. How is it that DJI uses 13 to 20?
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
853
Reaction score
469
Location
Big Bear, CA
I don't have much experience with this so I did some quick looking. From what I see, 2.4GHz contains channels 1 to 11/14. How is it that DJI uses 13 to 20?
That's mostly only for wifi.. This is not wifi.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
853
Reaction score
469
Location
Big Bear, CA
Looking at DJI's specs on the P3,the transmitter operates from 2.400GHz to 2.483GHz. This is the same freq band licensed for wifi. It's also this band that contains channels labeled as 1 to 14.
I understand this.. You were asking about the higher channels not being part of the 2.4 band. Which they are but most happy home owner WiFi routers only work on the lower channels.

The lightbridge does not use wifi technology bit does use 2.4, that's all my point was .
 
Last edited:

ianwood

Taco Wrangler
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
5,109
Reaction score
2,043
Location
Lost Angeles
The 2.4GHz ISM band is the same between Lightbridge and WiFi. Different protocols, same frequency range. For what it's worth, Lightbridge holds up very well in congested 2.4GHz areas.
 
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
34
Hello guys. I have one question. Don't know why but my fly range is about 400-500m, does anybody know why? (sorry on my english, i still learn...)
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
3,470
Reaction score
945
Location
Where the deer and the antelope play
Joined
Jan 29, 2015
Messages
4,851
Reaction score
2,068
Location
Salt Lake City, UT
The 2.4GHz ISM band is the same between Lightbridge and WiFi. Different protocols, same frequency range. For what it's worth, Lightbridge holds up very well in congested 2.4GHz areas.
Which if I understand correctly would simply mean that two devices would not communicate. However, the two devices could very well be using the same channel/frequency which would lead to interference.

Also, I'm still wondering about these 13-20 channels.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,605
Messages
1,449,244
Members
102,409
Latest member
rostislav