iPad 2air

Joined
Jun 1, 2014
Messages
58
Reaction score
7
Location
Lake Havasu City Az
looks like I will be purchasing a iPad 2 air with cellular. Those using the same how many gig do you have and are you happy with iPad?? My old iPad won't even let me download the pilot app.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
1,189
Reaction score
563
Location
San Francisco, CA
The gigs doesn't matter as the app is only a 120 mb or so.

I just picke up a 64 gig iPad Air 2. Haven't used it yet.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
548
Reaction score
249
I'm a get the best kinda guy. I use the 128 under at&t. Only app on it I'd the pilot app I don't use it for anything else haha. Works great
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2014
Messages
58
Reaction score
7
Location
Lake Havasu City Az
The gigs doesn't matter as the app is only a 120 mb or so.

I just picke up a 64 gig iPad Air 2. Haven't used it yet.
I realize that, was just curious as to what folks were using. Let me know how it works out. Thanks. Jerry
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
149
Reaction score
77
Age
52
Location
Memphis, TN
I upgraded my old iPad 2 when my P3 came to the iPad Air 2 and am super happy with it. No glitches at all for the Pilot app. It runs my work apps faster and the battery is incredible.

I have the cellular version without cellular service for now. I cache the maps either with my phone as a hot spot or at home before I go fly.

Highly recommended!

Chris
 
  • Like
Reactions: Havavision
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
242
Reaction score
87
Age
46
Location
Washington
I just bought the ipad air 2 with 16 gb... I am only planing on using it with the P3... I do not like Apple and there marketing... but it seems that as of this moment ipad is the best.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJF739B
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
1,189
Reaction score
563
Location
San Francisco, CA
Do you have to have cellular for it to work?
No. It will work with the WiFi only model.

Keep in mind the cellular version has the GPS hardware also. WiFi only version does not. If you plan on using the dynamic home point (set the hoe point after the P3 is in the air based on where the controller is) this will only work with the cellular model since the app needs a GPS signal to set the dynamic home point.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Mauk
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
No. It will work with the WiFi only model.

Keep in mind the cellular version has the GPS hardware also. WiFi only version does not. If you plan on using the dynamic home point (set the hoe point after the P3 is in the air based on where the controller is) this will only work with the cellular model since the app needs a GPS signal to set the dynamic home point.
Thank you
This helps
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
246
Reaction score
113
Age
49
OK just so I am clear. I will be using the iPad Air 2 WiFi only. I will not be able to set a home point with this? If that is the case, then if I use a hot spot (through cell) for initial take-off, will that allow it to record the home point for RTH? Thanks for clarifying.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
45
Reaction score
30
I recently bought an IPad 2 Air 64. No cellular. It works very well with my P3P. This is my first IPad or I anything for that matter. I was shocked as to what I could not do with the IPad 2 Air. Apple is quick to sell you additional accessories to do simple things like read an SD card. Why can't Apple use a standard mini USB plug? I'm done venting. It's a nice tablet. It works well with the P3.
 

jlo

Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
479
Reaction score
216
Location
FL
You won't be able to set a dynamic home point without the cellular version. I have the 16 GB cellular version and it's great. unless you need or want to set a dynamic home point cellular version is irrelevant. Also no need for a lot of gigabytes if you're not going to be using it for iTunes or movies or something like that.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
1,129
Reaction score
353
Location
Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
I just ordered a 16GB WI-FI LTE Air 2 as my Mini 2 was not cutting it in the heat we have here, today it got up to 101º and my iPad pretty much shut down. I was flying in about 90º and on the 3rd battery the FPV started lagging real bad, with video blips. First time this has happened, if I had known I would not have bought it and gone straight to the Air 2. I got the LTE 4G version as I have Verizon for my other phones on the Family Share Plan and a SIM card is only $9.95 a month.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2015
Messages
281
Reaction score
65
Age
38
OK just so I am clear. I will be using the iPad Air 2 WiFi only. I will not be able to set a home point with this? If that is the case, then if I use a hot spot (through cell) for initial take-off, will that allow it to record the home point for RTH? Thanks for clarifying.
Yes, using the phone as a hotspot will also share the phone's GPS to the iPad. This is what I'm doing. I have a WiFi only iPad Air and iPhone 5s hotspot.
 
Joined
May 5, 2015
Messages
2,640
Reaction score
1,586
Location
Oklahoma
OK just so I am clear. I will be using the iPad Air 2 WiFi only. I will not be able to set a home point with this? If that is the case, then if I use a hot spot (through cell) for initial take-off, will that allow it to record the home point for RTH? Thanks for clarifying.
Just to clarify................ you "will" be able to set the initial home point. You "won't" be able to set a "dynamic" home point. That's when you "change" from the initial home point to a "new" home point where the controller is currently located, such as if you've moved to another spot and want return-to-home to now be at that location.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
246
Reaction score
113
Age
49
Thank you for explaining the difference. I am learning an incredible amount on this forum. Can't wait to actually fly this thing, get good at it, and hopefully help others out someday with some advice. Really a great forum. Thanks again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Mauk
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
87
Reaction score
25
II have the iPad Air 2 WiFi, which works great. I've had no issues during 30 flights so far. I use my iPhone as a hotspot before take-off to download map, then I switch on airplane mode on both devices. I have ordered the device holder for Inspire controller, as the plastic one that comes with the Phantom controller makes the large iPad wobble during use and I fear it might break one day.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2014
Messages
290
Reaction score
105
Location
The Woodlands, Texas
II have the iPad Air 2 WiFi, which works great. I've had no issues during 30 flights so far. I use my iPhone as a hotspot before take-off to download map, then I switch on airplane mode on both devices. I have ordered the device holder for Inspire controller, as the plastic one that comes with the Phantom controller makes the large iPad wobble during use and I fear it might break one day.
+1 16GB is all you need. Wi-Fi only if you have a hotspot on phone to load maps. Display is much easier to see in bright sunlight than the iPad Mini 2.
 
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Age
48
I'm using the iPad Air 2, and can highly recommend it. I've got the cellular version, as I wanted to future proof myself by having GPS. I'm hoping that 3rd party apps will arrive that can implement things like follow me which are likely to rely on a good GPS position from the iPad.

I'm also using it for editing, and it handles the 4K footage from my Pro with ease. Transcoding to 1080p also happens really quickly either in iMovie or Pinnacle Studio.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,435
Messages
1,401,313
Members
98,653
Latest member
Aydin Tamturk